Ryan and Nikki McClure

Paulding County couple appointed to AFBF Young Farmer and Rancher Committee

For Immediate Release
Jan. 30, 2009

COLUMBUS, Ohio (OFBF) – Ryan and Nikki McClure of Grover Hill were recently appointed by American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) President Bob Stallman to serve on the organization’s Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee.

The committee is made up of 16 Young Farmers and Ranchers (YF&R) committee members from state Farm Bureaus representing all four regions of the United States. An individual or a couple can hold each committee position.

The McClures have served as co-chairs of Ohio Farm Bureau Federation’s Young Farmer Committee (now known as the Young Agricultural Professionals Advisory Team) and have lobbied on behalf of animal agriculture at both the state capitol and in Washington, D.C. Ryan is a fifth-generation farmer, working alongside his father and grandfather, where they raise corn, beans, wheat and cattle, and have a contract wean-to-finish hog operation.

During their time on the committee, the McClures will receive training on leadership qualities, issue briefings, and will hone other professional skills.

The committee is instrumental in operation of the YF&R contests during the AFBF Annual Meeting held in January of each year, as well as assisting in the planning and operation of the YF&R Leadership Conference held in February of each year. The committee also partakes in a “Day on the Hill” event in Washington, D.C., where members meet their elected officials and discuss what is happening in agriculture.

“The leadership experiences Ryan and Nikki gain and share with others on the committee will improve our industry here in Ohio as well as on a national basis,” said OFBF Director of Volunteer Development Darrell Rubel.

Learn more about OFBF’s Young Agricultural Professionals program by clicking on “County Farm Bureau Action Teams” at ofbf.org, or contact Darrell Rubel at 614-246-8277 or e-mail [email protected].


CONTACT: Joe Cornely
PHONE: (614) 246-8230
E-MAIL: [email protected]