Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Announces Scholarship Recipients


For Immediate Release
May 20, 2009

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation has selected ten $1,000 scholarship recipients in three scholarship programs for the 2009-2010 academic year.

“Each scholarship program has been established to address specific interests of Farm Bureau leaders, families and/or fellow service organizations,” said Foundation President Jack Fisher. “But they all have one aspect in common. All want to help students in urban, suburban and rural neighborhoods pursue careers in community service, education and science, all through agriculture.”

Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Scholar (OFBFS) Award
Established in 2008, the OFBFS award recognizes students for academic effort, community service and career interests that use agriculture to enhance the partnership between producers and consumers in rural, suburban and/or urban settings.

OFBFS recipients include Mariah Black, Canal Winchester, and Brian Hartschuh, Bloomville. Black is a graduating senior at Bloom-Carroll High School and plans to make use of her family farm background and interests in education and outreach with a degree in agricultural communications. Hartschuh, a 2004 graduate of Wynford High School, and graduate student in veterinary sciences at Ohio State University, plans to help farmers and consumers understand and appreciate their interrelationship.

Darwin Bryan Scholarship Program (DBS)
This program was established in 1985 in honor of Darwin R. Bryan whose enthusiastic leadership during his 37 years of service to the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation has been an inspiration to rural youth throughout Ohio.

DBS program recipients for this year include Alissa Armstrong of South Charleston, Grace Bluck of Clarksburg, Sarah Butterfield of Oxford, Christa Lierer of Okeana and Josh Zucker of Marion. A graduating senior from Southeastern High School, Armstrong plans to pursue a degree in agricultural communications and community service. Bluck is a graduating senior from Adena High School, and plans to pursue a career as a veterinarian at Wilmington College. Butterfield, a 2007 graduate of Talawanda High School, attends Ohio State University, as an agribusiness major. Lierer is a two-time recipient of the DBS scholarship. She is a 2008 graduate of Ross High School, and is enrolled at the Agriculture Technical Institute in Wooster, where she studies crop production and business services. Zucker is a 2007 graduate of River Valley High School, and is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in business and pre law at Bowling Green State University. He was also a recipient of a Foundation Scholar award in 2008.

Women’s Leadership in Agriculture Scholarship Program (WLASP)
Established in 2005 with a grant from the Charlotte R. Schmidlapp Fund, Fifth Third Bank, Trustee, WLASP supports academic institutions, social service and charitable organizations providing opportunities “to ennoble, to uplift and to strengthen the lives of young women.”

WLASP recipients for this year include Laura Johnson of Columbus, Ellen Keck of Raymond and Kelly Shaw of Trenton. A 2006 graduate of Upper Arlington High School, Johnson is pursuing a degree in food processing and manufacturing at Cornell University. Keck is a graduating senior from Marysville High School, and plans on combining her farm background, leadership experiences and knowledge of consumer trends into a degree focusing on agricultural education. Shaw, a 2007 graduate of Edgewood High School, attends Wittenberg University with career plans to become an environmental geologist.

The Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation is a 501(c) 3 public, charitable organization, supporting programs in agricultural education, environmental research and community development. The Foundation is a supporting organization of the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation. Along with its scholarship programs, the Foundation offers Agriculture Action and Awareness Grants to small, community-based service groups throughout Ohio.

Families and individuals wishing to establish their own life gifts to enhance scholarships and service programs have the opportunity to become involved in the Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Bequest Society. More information on the Foundation and its programs can be found at www.ofbfoundation.org