Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation announces scholarship recipients

Buckeye Farm News

The Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation has selected 10 $1,000 scholarship recipients in three scholarship programs for the 2009-2010 academic year.

Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Scholar (OFBFS) Award
Established in 2008, the OFBFS award recognizes students for academic effort, community service and career interests that use agriculture to enhance the partnership between producers and consumers in rural, suburban and/or urban settings.

OFBFS recipients include Mariah Black, Canal Winchester, and Brian Hartschuh, Bloomville.

Darwin Bryan Scholarship Program (DBS)
This program was established in 1985 in honor of Darwin R. Bryan whose enthusiastic leadership during his 37 years of service to the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation has been an inspiration to rural youth throughout Ohio.

DBS program recipients for this year include Alissa Armstrong of South Charleston, Grace Bluck of Clarksburg, Sarah Butterfield of Oxford, Christa Lierer of Okeana and Josh Zucker of Marion.

Women’s Leadership in Agriculture Scholarship Program (WLASP)
WLASP was established in 2005 with a grant from the Charlotte R. Schmidlapp Fund , Fifth Third Bank, Trustee, supporting academic institutions, social service and charitable organizations providing opportunities “to ennoble, to uplift and to strengthen the lives of young women.”

WLASP recipients for this year include Laura Johnson of Columbus, Ellen Keck of Raymond and Kelly Shaw of Trenton. More information on the Foundation and its programs can be found at www.ofbfoundation.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *