Ohio Farm Bureau Kicks-off Second AgriPOWER Institute Program

For Immediate Release

August 25, 2009

COLUMBUS, Ohio (OFBF) – Twenty-two Ohioans interested in becoming future leaders, advocates and activists for Ohio agriculture have been selected by the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation (OFBF) to participate in its AgriPOWER program, which was launched last year as an elite training program for farmers and agribusiness professionals.

The yearlong program, which consists of seven weekend institutes, focuses on public policy issues confronting agriculture and the food industry. Institute programs cover topics facing local communities, the state of Ohio, the nation and the world. Additionally, specific sessions will help class members develop important skills such as public speaking and parliamentary procedure. One of the institutes will be held in Washington, D. C. to help class members gain a valuable understanding of national and global issues.

“Ohio Farm Bureau is committed to developing grassroots leaders,” said Keith Stimpert, OFBF senior vice president of public policy. “The intensive training provided by AgriPOWER will equip these individuals to make significant contributions to the viability of Ohio agriculture.”

Members of the second AgriPOWER class include Mark Ballmer, Roy Norman, Jill Stechschulte and Ronald Lumbrezer, Fulton County; David Benavides, Portage County; Brian Brandt, Neall Weber and Katherine Harrison, Franklin County; Eric Cotton, Lake County; Matthew Culler, Richland County; Trish Cunningham, Delaware County; Brent Dixon, Jackson County; Matt Heimerl, Licking County; Scott Isler and Leslie Jordan, Marion County; Sherri D. Matis, Coshocton County; Cynthia Parker, Miami County; Scott Metzger and Michael Videkovich, Pickaway County; Rebecca Vincent, Stark County; Kerrick Wilson, Preble County, and Laura Wood, Wyandot County.

In addition to OFBF, AgriPOWER partners include Bob Evans, Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation, Nationwide, Farm Credit Services of Mid-America, American Dairy Association MidEast, American Farmland Trust, Town & Country Co-op, Ohio Pork Producers Council, Ohio Corn Growers Association, Fulton County Farm Bureau, Ohio Sheep Improvement Association, Ohio Cattlemen’s Association, Ohio Beef Council, Ohio Soybean Council and Dairy Farmers of America.

For additional information about the AgriPOWER program, please contact OFBF at [email protected] or 614-246-8261.


CONTACT: David White

PHONE: (614) 246-8261 or

(614) 361-9113

E-MAIL: [email protected]