Innovations…Rooted in Tradition

Buckeye Farm News

2009 OFBF annual meeting travels to Cincinnati

Ohio Farm Bureau’s 91st annual meeting will travel south on Interstate 71 to Cincinnati Dec. 2 to 4. Ohio Farm Bureau — Innovations…Rooted in Tradition is the theme of this year’s meeting.

In addition to finalizing OFBF policy for the coming year and holding elections for open seats on the board of trustees, the annual meeting will have many highlights.

A silent auction to conclude the Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation’s fifth annual Rural-Urban Community Auction to support its Community Grantsmanship and scholarship programs. Auction items are up for bid online at now through Dec. 2.

The Discussion Meet finals will feature Pam Haley of West Salem, Cassandra Palsgrove of Pickerington, Andrew Spiker of Adamsville and Kelly Staley of Fredericktown. They will discuss 1) What can be done to encourage young people to get involved in the agricultural industry and remain there? And 2) How can we continue to bridge the gap between farmers/ranchers and lawmakers in order to have an influence in the changing political environment?

The winner of the Excellence in Agriculture Award will be decided and announced at the annual Harvest Banquet from amongst four couples: Scott and Tracie Isler of Prospect, Matthew and Kristin Reese of Baltimore, Andy and Lindsay Hill Vance of De Graff and Chip and Shannon Yochum of Leesburg. It recognizes successful young agricultural professionals (singles or couples) who are actively contributing and growing through their involvement in Farm Bureau and agriculture.

The winner of the Outstanding Young Farmer Award will also be decided and announced at the Harvest Banquet from amongst three finalists: Kyle Brown of Marion, Jay Holden of Mt. Orab and Brandon and Julia Weber of Jackson. The award recognizes successful young farmers, 35 years of age and younger, for achievement in the business of farming and leadership in the agricultural community.

Contact your county Farm Bureau office to register for the meeting and visit the events section at for maps, directions and guides to Cincinnati attractions.

Some of this year’s annual meeting speakers:

  • “If We Don’t Do It, Who’s To Do It For Us?” — Dr. Jay Lehr, science director Heartland Institute and senior scientist Environmental Education Enterprises
  • “Ag Perspective 2010” — Alan Brugler, president, Brugler Marketing and Management, LLC.
  • “Food and Animal Issues” Panel Discussion
  • “Consumer Trends and Food Issues” — Mike Townsley, president, Food Products Division, Bob Evans Farms, Inc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *