Ohio Farm Bureau’s 91st Annual Meeting this week

The Ohio Farm Bureau Federation (OFBF) will develop its positions on farm and rural issues during the organization’s 91st annual meeting, this Wednesday through Friday in Cincinnati.

Delegates are expected to take action on a variety subjects of interest to both farmers and consumers including livestock farming, U.S. farm policy, climate change, wildlife and more as they establish the official policies for the state’s largest farm organization.

Elections will also be held during the meeting for the organization’s top offices and for district trustees. The winners of OFBF’s Outstanding Young Farmer and Excellence in Agriculture awards will be announced and the finals of the state Discussion Meet will be held.

The Discussion Meet finals will feature Pam Haley of West Salem, Cassandra Palsgrove of Pickerington, Andrew Spiker of Adamsville and Kelly Staley of Fredericktown. They will discuss 1) What can be done to encourage young people to get involved in the agricultural industry and remain there? And 2) How can we continue to bridge the gap between farmers/ranchers and lawmakers in order to have an influence in the changing political environment?

Finalists for the Excellence in Agriculture award include four couples: Scott and Tracie Isler of Prospect, Matthew and Kristin Reese of Baltimore, Andy Vance and Lindsay Hill of De Graff and Chip and Shannon Yochum of Leesburg. It recognizes successful young agricultural professionals (singles or couples) who are actively contributing and growing through their involvement in Farm Bureau and agriculture.

The three finalists for the Outstanding Young Farmer Award include: Kyle Brown of Marion, Jay Holden of Mt. Orab and Brandon and Julia Weber of Jackson. The award recognizes successful young farmers, 35 years of age and younger, for achievement in the business of farming and leadership in the agricultural community.

Dr. Jay Lehr of Heartland Institute, Jon Williams and Sherry Hubble of AEP, Alan Brugler of Brugler Marketing and Management, Terry Fleck of The Center for Food Integrity and Michael Townsley of Bob Evans Farms Inc. are among the speakers who will be featured throughout the three-day event.

OFBF President Brent Porteus and Executive Vice President Jack Fisher will deliver their annual reports to the membership and highlight priority issues for the coming year. Nationwide Insurance CEO Steve Rasmussen will also address those in attendance.

Follow Annual Meeting as it happens

Ohio Farm Bureau will provide live annual meeting coverage this week through social media.

Become a fan of Ohio Farm Bureau Federation on Facebook or follow OhioFarmBureau on Twitter to receive the latest news and updates. The Ohio Farm Bureau Web site, ofbf.org, will also include daily wrap-ups through the end of the week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *