Ohio Farm Bureau trustees, officers elected

Buckeye Farm News

Brent Porteus of Coshocton has been re-elected president of Ohio Farm Bureau Federation. Prior to being elected president, Porteus also was re-elected to serve as District 12 trustee serving members from Coshocton, Holmes, Knox and Licking counties. He is a 34-year member of Farm Bureau. He first joined the state board in 2002 and has served as the board’s treasurer and first vice president.

Steve Hirsch of Chillicothe was re-elected OFBF vice president. It is his second term in the organization’s second highest elected office. He also serves as District 15 trustee, representing Farm Bureau members in Fairfield, Hocking, Pickaway and Ross counties.

Keith Truckor of Metamora has been re-elected to his second term as treasurer of Ohio Farm Bureau. He also serves as District 1 trustee, representing members in Defiance, Fulton, Henry and Williams counties.

Also re-elected to the board followed by the counties they represent were Frank Burkett III, (Columbiana, Mahoning, Portage and Stark), Daryl Knipp (Lucas, Ottawa, Sandusky and Wood), Charles Lausin (Ashtabula, Geauga, Lake and Trumbull), Judy Loudenslager (Northwest women’s trustee), Joyce Payne (Athens, Gallia, Lawrence and Meigs) and Don Ralph (Crawford, Marion, Morrow and Richland counties.)

Newly Elected

Three new state trustees were elected to fill seats opened by retiring board members.

Pam Haley of West Salem has been elected Northeast Women’s Trustee. She will represent Farm Bureau members from 20 northeastern Ohio counties. She fills the seat vacated by Gale Betterly, who retired after nine years on the board.

Haley and her husband, Mike, farm with his father. They produce corn, soybeans, wheat and hay and own a registered Simmental cow herd. They also operate a small trucking business. She is a crop insurance adjuster for Rural Community Insurance Service.

Jim Swingle of Philo was elected to serve as District 16 trustee where he will represent Farm Bureau members from Guernsey, Morgan, Muskingum and Perry counties. He fills the seat vacated by Joe Pittman who retired after six years on the board. Swingle is a 40-year member of Muskingum County Farm Bureau, where he has served as president and trustee. He produces beef and specialty crops.

Tim Williams of Piketon has been elected District 21 trustee where he will represent Farm Bureau members from Jackson, Pike, Scioto and Vinton counties. Williams previously served five years on the board and retired in 2006. He now fills the seat vacated by Nate Ewing who retired after three years of service. Williams and his wife, Robin, produce apples and peaches, operate a seasonal farm market and own a cow-calf beef herd.

Former OFBF President and American Farm Bureau Director Bob Peterson retired from his trustee position during the board meeting held at the conclusion of the annual meeting. Peterson represented members from Clinton, Fayette, Greene and Warren counties. A special election will be held in that district to fill the open seat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *