Robert and Autumn Morrison won the use of a Kubota tractor through the Outstanding Young Farmer contest.

Among the best

Buckeye Farm News: 2009 – A Year In Review

Young Agricultural Professionals

In 2009, OFBF sent a trio of Young Agricultural Professionals to compete in American Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer and Rancher contests at AFBF’s annual meeting in San Antonio in January. Harrison County’s Wendy Chrisman competed in the Sweet 16 Round of the Discussion Meet, which tests participants’ ability to cooperatively discuss challenges facing agriculture. Fairfield County’s Katy Endsley represented Ohio in the Excellence in Agriculture competition, which recognizes successful young people involved in farming but whose primary occupations are not farming or owning an agribusiness. And fourth-generation cattle farmers Robert and Autumn Morrison of Jefferson County represented OFBF in the Outstanding Young Farmer contest, which recognizes individuals for accomplishments in their farming operations and their leadership in the farm community.

Paulding County couple Ryan and Nikki McClure were appointed by AFBF President Bob Stallman to serve on American Farm Bureau Federation’s Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee in 2009. The committee is made up of 16 Young Farmers and Ranchers from state Farm Bureaus across the United States.

Learn more by searching for “Young Agricultural Professionals” at 

Earning recognition

OFBF received AFBF’s new Pinnacle Award, given to the best Farm Bureau in each membership division for overall outstanding achievement combined with membership growth. The organization also won four out of a possible five President’s Awards for the third straight year, twice as many as the closest state Farm Bureau competitor, and received AFBF’s Award for Excellence in all five program areas – Agriculture Education and Promotion; Leadership Development; Member Services; Policy Implementation; and Public Relations and Information.

OFBF’s communications projects also were recognized among the nation’s best as the organization received eight awards and seven honorable mentions at American Farm Bureau’s annual PR Conference.

Ohio Farm Bureau’s policy team received American Farm Bureau’s traveling FBACT (Farm Bureau Agricultural Contact Team) trophy for the Midwest Region in 2009 for excellence in grassroots activities aimed at the 110th Congress. The award is based upon participation in federal issues, member visits to Washington, in-state grassroots activities, other activities and recruitment.

County programs awarded for excellence

Ohio Farm Bureau Federation recognized county Farm Bureaus for their outstanding activities and achievements during the awards banquet held at this year’s OFBF Leadership Conference.

County activities were judged by 38 member-volunteers from across the state on how well the planning and execution of activities supported the organization’s three program areas: Communications, Organization and Public Policy.

Counties recognized as having the best overall programming in each division were awarded the highest honor — the President’s Award. The President’s Award winners include Harrison County, Carroll County, Marion County, Tuscarawas County and Butler County.

Two county Farm Bureau programs also have been recognized on the national level. The LEAD (Leadership Education and Development) Program of Carroll, Harrison, Jefferson and Tuscarawas counties, along with the Grand Lake Agriculture Leaders Program of Mercer County, have earned the opportunity to participate in American Farm Bureau’s Showcase at the 2010 AFBF annual meeting in Seattle. On an individual basis, Floyd Simpson of Belmont County has also been selected by AFBF to display his “Tag-Sav-R” invention as part of the Farmer Idea Exchange program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *