County Farm Bureaus Receive Awards

For Immediate Release

December 3, 2010

COLUMBUS, Ohio (OFBF) – The exceptional work of county Farm Bureau volunteers was recognized during the County Achievement Awards program during the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation (OFBF) annual meeting, Dec. 1 to 3 in Columbus. County programming in Communications, Food and Animal Issues, Organization and Public Policy were judged by member- volunteers.

Winners of the President’s Award were Hancock County Farm Bureau and Perry County Farm Bureau. The President’s Award signifies outstanding accomplishment across all program areas. Honorable mention recognition went to Jefferson and Tuscarawas counties.


Excellence Awards for Communications went to Carroll, Champaign, Crawford, Harrison, Hocking, Perry, Shelby, Stark, Tuscarawas, Union, Wayne and Wood counties. Communications programs shared information about agriculture and Farm Bureau to audiences including current and prospective members, communities, teachers and students, media and public policy decision-makers.


Food and Animal Issues Excellence Awards were presented to Ashland, Carroll, Delaware, Fairfield, Hancock, Harrison, Jefferson, Medina, Pickaway, Tuscarawas, Wyandot and Van Wert counties. This program engages and educates members and the public on animal production and care practices.


Receiving Excellence Awards for Organizational work were Auglaize, Champaign, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Jefferson, Marion, Morrow, Perry, Putnam, Richland, Shelby and Van Wert counties. Organization programs advance member services, annual meetings and facilitate relationships with other groups including Nationwide Insurance.


Public Policy Excellence Awards went to Allen, Ashland, Delaware, Harrison, Jefferson, Medina, Morrow, Putnam, Richland, Shelby, Tuscarawas and Van Wert counties. Public Policy programs enable members to successfully carry out work in developing and implementing policies to help OFBF members and agriculture in general.


In addition to the programming- based awards, four counties were recognized for new or unique activities. Those counties were Carroll, Darke, Monroe and Wayne.


86 county Farm Bureaus participated in the awards program, which was organized in divisions of like-sized counties.


CONTACT: Joe Cornely

PHONE: (614) 246-8230

E-MAIL: [email protected]