AgriPOWER class III graduates

Applications being accepted for 2011-2012 AgriPOWER class

Buckeye Farm News

Ohio Farm Bureau Federation is currently accepting applications for members of its 2011-2012 AgriPOWER Institute class.

Designed specifically for farmers and agribusiness professionals, the yearlong AgriPOWER program focuses on public policy issues confronting agriculture and the food industry. Each year, AgriPOWER Institute helps 20 individuals develop the skills necessary to become effective leaders and advocates for agriculture by learning from experts in these fields.

The program consists of seven multi-day institutes (17 total days) covering public policy matters facing local communities, the state of Ohio, the nation and the world. Additionally, specific sessions help class members develop important skills necessary to become an effective leader and advocate. One session will be held in Washington, D.C. to help class members gain a valuable understanding of national and global issues.

OFBF, as well as other commodity organizations, will be awarding scholarships to individuals for the 2011-2012 AgriPOWER Institute covering the cost of lodging, meals, group travel, institute materials and course content for the program.

Those interested in the class are encouraged to work to get a sponsored nomination from their county Farm Bureau or commodity organization.

Individual self-nominations will also be accepted. Applications for the 2011-2012 AgriPOWER Institute are due June 1.


– View a complete description, 2011-2012 AgriPOWER class schedule and download the informational brochure and applications


Class III Graduates

Twenty Ohio leaders, shown here during a trip to Washington, D.C.,  recently graduated from the AgriPOWER Institute.The graduates are Matt Bell, Muskingum County; Jake Bodimer, Gallia County; Shirlee Bostdorff , Wood County; Sara Camacho, Washington County; Rich Deaton, Darke County; Abra Dunn, Franklin County; Evan Hahn, Ashland County; Brenda Hastings, Geauga County; Aaron Heilers, Shelby County; Rachel Heimerl, Licking County; Tracie Isler, Marion County; Jamie King, Delaware County; Andy Korb, Butler County; Nathan Like, Henry County; Jamie Metzger, Pickaway County; Christy Montoya, Montgomery County; Kim Rassi, Cuyahoga County; Leia Ringler, Richland County; Chris Rogers, Brown County and Kristin Taylor, Wayne County.

During the past year, participants engaged government officials, activists, media insiders and farm leaders on pressing local, state and national issues. Among the topics were government structure and spending, regulations, the environment, animal welfare, international trade and public relations. Photo by Sandy Kuhn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *