Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Awards Scholarships


May 16, 2011

For Immediate Release

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Three scholarship programs associated with the Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation have collectively selected ten $1,000 scholarship recipients for the upcoming 2011-12 academic year.

Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Scholar

The Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Scholar award recognizes students for academic effort, community service and career interests that use agriculture to enhance the partnership between producers and consumers.

Award recipients include Eric Hoying of Minster and Abby Snyder of Kingston.

A 2006 graduate of Anna High School, Hoying is currently studying environmental science and agricultural engineering at Ohio State University. Snyder, a 2007 Zane Trace High School graduate, is pursuing a degree in food sciences at Ohio State. She is a 2008 recipient of Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation’s Darwin Bryan Scholarship award.

Women’s Leadership in Agriculture Scholarship Program

The Women’s Leadership in Agriculture Scholarship Program was established by the Charlotte R. Schmidlapp Fund, Fifth Third Bank, Trustee. The Fund is one of the oldest in the nation, and supports academic institutions, social service and charitable organizations providing opportunities “to ennoble, to uplift and to strengthen the lives of young women.”

Recipients for this year include Audrey Neal of Tiffin, Stacie Seger of Minster and Rebecca Swope of Salem.

A 2009 graduate of Tiffin Columbian High School, Neal is pursuing a degree in agribusiness and applied economics at Ohio State. Seger is a 2011 graduate from Fort Loramie High School and will be entering Ohio State this fall to pursue a degree in agricultural communications. Swope is a 2011 graduate from United High School. She plans to pursue a degree in education and become a vocational agriculture instructor.

Darwin Bryan Scholarship Program

The Darwin Bryan Scholarship Program was established to commemorate Darwin R. Bryan, whose enthusiastic leadership during his 37 years of service to the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation has been an inspiration to rural youth throughout Ohio.

Recipients for this year include Nicole Carr of Deshler, Michael Hannewald of Waterville, Christa Lierer of Okeana, Lauren Prettyman of New Bloomington and Aaron Sollars of Washington Court House.

A 2011 graduate of Patrick Henry High School, Carr is planning to pursue a degree in biomedical science. Hannewald is a 2010 graduate of Otsego High School and is studying crop sciences at Ohio State. Lierer is a 2008 graduate of Ross High School and is a 2008 and 2009 recipient of the Darwin Bryan Scholarship program. She is double major in crop management and agriculture communications at Ohio State. Prettyman is a 2010 graduate of River Valley High School is pursuing a degree is agricultural education at Ohio State. Sollars is a 2011 graduate of Miami Trace High School, and will be studying agricultural engineer at Ohio State this fall.

The Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation is a 501 (c) 3 public, charitable organization, supporting programs in agricultural education, environmental and community development. The Foundation is a supporting organization of the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation. Along with its scholarship programs, the Foundation offers Agriculture Action and Awareness Grants to small, community-based service groups throughout Ohio.

Families and individuals wishing to establish their own life gifts to enhance scholarships and service programs have the opportunity to become involved in the Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Bequest Society. More information on these and other programs can be found at www.ofbfoundation.org.


CONTACT: Dale Arnold

PHONE: 614-246-8294

E-MAIL: [email protected]