AgriPOWER Class

Ohio Farm Bureau Kicks-off Fourth AgriPOWER Institute Program

For Immediate Release

August 22, 2011

COLUMBUS, Ohio (OFBF) – Nineteen Ohioans interested in becoming future leaders and advocates for Ohio agriculture have been selected by the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation (OFBF) to participate in its 2011-2012 AgriPOWER institute. OFBF launched AgriPOWER in 2008 as an elite training program. The yearlong program consists of seven two-to-three-day training sessions that focus on public policy issues confronting agriculture and the food industry.

Topics covered include public policy issues facing local communities, the state of Ohio, the nation and the world. Specific sessions help class members develop important skills necessary to becoming an effective leader and advocate, including spokesperson and media training, etiquette training, social networking, communications and more. One of the institute programs will be held in Washington, D.C. to help class members gain a valuable understanding of national and global issues.

“As farmers, we have always known what our business is and how we do it, but when it comes to communicating this to others, that is not our strength,” said Ryan McClure, a Paulding County grain and livestock farmer who was a member of the initial AgriPOWER class. “Through AgriPOWER, I was able to gain the tools and comfort level needed to be able to convey my messages to others.”

Members of AgriPOWER class four include Matt Aultman, Darke County, Yvonne Batchelor, Jefferson County, Michele Burky, Tuscarawas County, Adam Garman, Ross County, Jeff Heimerl, Licking County, Ty Kellogg, Geauga County, Jack Leslie, Wyandot County, Jeff Moore, Gallia County, Katie Myers-Griffith, Wayne County, Amanda Propst, Champaign County, Kristin Reese, Fairfield County, Bruce Simmons, Medina County, Myra Snider, Delaware County, Terri Studer, Butler County, Matt Stump, Union County, Leland Tinklepaugh, Franklin County, Curtis Tobe, Putnam County, Kris Vincent, Stark County and Carol Wildman, Clark County.

In addition to OFBF, AgriPOWER sponsoring partners include Nationwide, AgriPOWER Class III, AgriPOWER alumni, Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation, Ohio Pork Producers Council, Ohio Cattlemen’s Association, Ohio Beef Council, Ohio Soybean Council, Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development Foundation, Ohio Corn and Wheat Growers Association, Monsanto, Cargill Animal Nutrition and Stark County Farm Bureau.

For additional information about AgriPOWER visit, contact OFBF at 614-246-8249 or e-mail [email protected].


CONTACT: Joe Cornely

PHONE: (614) 246-8230

E-MAIL: [email protected]