Cuyahoga Farm Bureau Delegates to Attend OFBF Annual Meeting

Three members of the Cuyahoga Farm Bureau will represent the Cuyahoga County Farm Bureau at the 93rd annual meeting of the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation (OFBF) from Nov. 30 – Dec. 2 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Columbus, Ohio.

The theme of this year’s meeting is “Working and Growing Together.” The total delegation of 394 members elected from their county Farm Bureaus, including David Peth, Gerald Wilson and Robin Schaefer from Cuyahoga County, will meet to establish policies on numerous issues including the 2012 Farm Bill, nutrient management and water quality, ownership of wild and dangerous animals and market-oriented responses to climate change. Also likely to be discussed are environmental and energy aspects of shale oil and gas development and solutions to the fiscal challenges facing state and local governments.

Delegates will also consider a by-law change, which if approved would redefine several seats on the organization’s board of trustees.

Nearly 900 members and guests will celebrate the organization’s 2011 accomplishments and honor the contributions of individuals.

Awards to be presented will honor outstanding county Farm Bureau programs, individuals who excelled in membership activities and distinguished service to Farm Bureau and Ohio agriculture. The Outstanding Young Farmer, Excellence in Agriculture and Discussion Meet winners will be recognized as well.

OFBF President Steve Hirsch and Executive Vice President John C. (Jack) Fisher will deliver remarks. Additional speakers include Steve Rasmussen, chief executive officer of Nationwide Insurance, Mary Byers, co-author of the book Race for Relevance and Dr. Jeffrey Wadsworth, CEO of Battelle Memorial Institute.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *