County Farm Bureaus Recognized for Excellence

For Immediate Release

December 2, 2011

COLUMBUS, Ohio (OFBF) – The exceptional work of county Farm Bureau volunteers was recognized through County Achievement Awards presented during Ohio Farm Bureau Federation’s (OFBF) annual meeting, Nov. 30 through Dec. 2 in Columbus. County Farm Bureau programming in the areas of Communications, Food and Animal Issues, Organization and Public Policy were judged by county Farm Bureau member-volunteers from throughout the state in early November.

Winners of the President’s Award were Carroll, Delaware, Harrison and Muskingum County Farm Bureaus. The President’s Award signifies outstanding accomplishment across all program areas.

Excellence Awards for Communications went to Ashland, Carroll, Coshocton, Defiance, Delaware, Geauga, Harrison, Logan, Pike, Scioto, Stark and Tuscarawas County Farm Bureaus. Communications programs share information about agriculture and Farm Bureau to audiences including current and prospective members, communities, teachers and students, media and public policy decision-makers.

Food and Animal Issues Excellence Awards were presented to Ashland, Carroll, Delaware, Geauga, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Holmes, Logan, Morrow, Stark and Tuscarawas County Farm Bureaus. This program engages and educates members and the public on animal production and care practices.

Receiving Excellence Awards for Organizational work were Ashtabula, Carroll, Geauga, Hancock, Harrison, Holmes, Jackson/Vinton, Logan, Muskingum, Portage, Scioto and Stark County Farm Bureaus. Organization programs advance member services, annual meetings and facilitate relationships with other groups including Nationwide Insurance.

Public Policy Excellence Awards went to Ashtabula, Carroll, Coshocton, Delaware, Geauga, Logan, Morrow, Paulding, Portage, Preble, Scioto and Tuscarawas County Farm Bureaus. Public Policy programs enable members to successfully carry out work in developing and implementing policies to help Farm Bureau members and agriculture in general.

In addition to the programming-based awards, nine county Farm Bureaus were recognized for new or unique activities. These include Ashland, Carroll, Darke, Hamilton, Harrison, Jackson/Vinton, Mahoning, Medina, and Shelby counties.

Eighty-six county Farm Bureaus participated in the awards program, which was organized in divisions of like-sized counties.


CONTACT: Joe Cornely

PHONE: (614) 246-8230

E-MAIL: [email protected]

To download high resolution photos of the President’s Award winners go to