AgriPOWER 2012 Class

AgriPOWER Institute Announces 19 Graduates

For Immediate Release

April 17, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio (OFBF) – Nineteen select leaders and advocates recently graduated from Ohio Farm Bureau Federation’s (OFBF) AgriPOWER Institute. The intensive, yearlong leadership training program was launched in 2008 to help farmers and agricultural professionals gain influence over public policy issues that impact their businesses.

Class IV graduates are: Matt Aultman, Darke County; Michele Burkey, Tuscarawas County; Yvonne Fair, Jefferson County; Adam Garman, Ross County; Jeff Heimerl, Licking County; Ty Kellogg, Geauga County; Jack Leslie, Wyandot County; Jeff Moore, Gallia County; Katie Myers-Griffith, Wayne County; Amanda Propst, Champaign County; Kristin Reese, Fairfield County; Bruce Simmons, Medina County; Myra Snider, Delaware County; Terri Studer, Butler County; Matt Stump, Union County; Leland Tinklepaugh, Franklin County; Curtis Tobe, Putnam County; Kris Vincent, Stark County; and Carol Wildman, Clark County.

During the past year, participants engaged government officials, activists, media insiders and farm leaders on pressing local, state and national issues. Among the topics were government structure and spending, regulations, the environment, animal welfare, international trade and public relations.

Ohio Farm Bureau is committed to the success of AgriPOWER and believes that there has never been a more important time for people to stand up for agriculture and tell their stories,” said Sandy Kuhn, AgriPOWER director. “This is really the purpose of AgriPOWER as graduates are trained to become the future leaders and advocates for agriculture.”

Prior to graduation, participants developed goals for using their training to effectively impact public policy. At graduation, AgriPOWER Class IV presented Kuhn with a $1,000 scholarship to help with the funding of Class V. “They have truly learned the power of paying forward,” Kuhn said.

In addition to OFBF, AgriPOWER partners include Nationwide Insurance, Ohio Soybean Council, Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development Foundation, Farm Credit Services of Mid-America, Ohio Pork Producers Council, Ohio Corn Marketing Program, Ohio Small Grains Marketing Program, Ohio Sheep and Wool Program, Ohio Sheep Improvement Association, Ohio Cattlemen’s Association, Ohio Beef Council, Monsanto, Agri-Trac Equipment, Pioneer, Cargill Animal Nutrition, Trupointe Cooperative, Inc., Stark County Farm Bureau, Franklin County Farm Bureau, AgriPOWER alumni and AgriPOWER Class III.

For additional information about AgriPOWER, contact OFBF at (614) 246-8249, visit OFBF’s website at or e-mail [email protected].


CONTACT: Joe Cornely

PHONE: (614) 246-8230

E-MAIL: [email protected]