AgriPOWER Class V

Ohio Farm Bureau Kicks-off Fifth AgriPOWER Institute Program

For Immediate Release

September 7, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio (OFBF) Twenty-one Ohioans interested in becoming future leaders and advocates for Ohio agriculture have been selected by the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation (OFBF) to participate in its 2012-2013 AgriPOWER Institute. OFBF launched AgriPOWER in 2008 as an elite training program. The yearlong program consists of seven two-to-three-day training sessions that focus on public policy issues confronting agriculture and the food industry.

Topics covered include public policy issues facing local communities, the state of Ohio, the nation and the world. Specific sessions help class members develop important skills necessary to becoming an effective leader and advocate, including spokesperson and media training, etiquette training, social networking, communications and more. One of the institute programs will be held in Washington, D.C. to help class members gain a valuable understanding of national and global issues.

Ohio Farm Bureau is committed to the success of AgriPOWER and believes that there has never been a more important time for people to stand up for agriculture and tell their stories,” said Sandy Kuhn, AgriPOWER director. “This is really the purpose of AgriPOWER as graduates are trained to become the future leaders and advocates for agriculture.”

Members of AgriPOWER Class V: Cindy Cassell, Clermont County; Kevin Flax, Clark County; Jason Fogt, Shelby County; Christie Haines, Washington County; Anna Hall, Pickaway County; Brad Heimerl, Licking County; Jordan Hoewischer, Franklin County; Dusty Knapke, Auglaize County; Mark Longenecker, Darke County; Elizabeth Mead, Madison County; Kelly Moore, Delaware County; Monica Schemrich, Franklin County; Carrie Schlechter, Erie County; Derek Schmitt, Fairfield County; Joy Sizemore, Huron County; Anthony Stateler, Hancock County; Laura Sutherly, Miami County; Julie Weber, Jackson County; Callie Wells, Franklin County; Steve Wickersham, Marion County and Sam Wildman, Franklin County.

In addition to OFBF, AgriPOWER partners include Nationwide Insurance, Ohio Soybean Council, Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development Foundation, Farm Credit Services of Mid-America, Ohio Pork Producers Council, Ohio Corn Marketing Program, Ohio Small Grains Marketing Program, Ohio Sheep and Wool Program, Ohio Sheep Improvement Association, Ohio Cattlemen’s Association, Ohio Beef Council, AgriPOWER alumni, AgriPOWER Class IV, Ag Credit ACA and The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company.


For additional information about AgriPOWER visit, or contact OFBF at (614) 246-8249 or e-mail [email protected].


CONTACT: Sandy Kuhn

PHONE: (614) 246-8249

E-MAIL: [email protected]