Newly elected officers Daryl Clark, Jim Percival, Shawn Ray, Mark McCabe and OSIA executive director Roger High.

Ohio sheep industry awards winners, program funding and elections announced

There has been a lot of activity in the Ohio sheep industry recently, starting in October with the Ohio Sheep and Wool Program (OSWP) voting to fund several programs for 2013, and then supporters of the Ohio sheep industry were honored at the Buckeye Shepherd’s Symposium in December.

Program funding

OSWP, which is Ohio’s sheep and wool check-off program, will invest nearly $36,500 in sheep and wool promotion, education, industry information and producer programs this year.

The OSWP board of directors approved 13 proposals at its October board meeting for full or partial funding.

Programs receiving funding are Ohio Lamb Jam, Ohio Lamb Chef’s Day, Ohio Soybean Council Grocery Store Promotion, Buckeye Shepherd’s Symposium, Ohio Sheep Day, AgriPOWER Institute, Statewide Sheep Shearing Schools, Ohio Sheep Summit, Ohio Sheep Forage and Farm Tour, a fall education program, Young Entrepreneurs Educational Program and funding to support purebred and club lamb sale marketing programs.

Other programs funded by OSWP include the Ohio Heartland Cuisine promotional program at the Ohio State Fair as well as the State FFA Sheep Proficiency Award and other smaller sheep and wool industry programs.

‘Friends of the Ohio Sheep Industry’

Guy and Pat Flora of Cardington, and Ken and Kathy Kark of New Washington were named “Friends of the Ohio Sheep Industry” for their significant contribution to the industry during an awards ceremony at Buckeye Shepherd’s Symposium.

The Floras and Karks have been involved with ownership, management, and have served as editors of The Shepherd Magazine for many years. They have made an impact on the Ohio sheep industry through their dedication to providing sheep farmers with an educational magazine covering many sheep production and management topics.

The Shepherd Magazine has sponsored many local, state and national education programs over the years, including Ohio Sheep Day and Buckeye Shepherd’s Symposium.

Distinguished Service Award winners

Six recipients were honored for their significant contributions to the Ohio Sheep Industry, being named Distinguished Service Award winners by OSIA and OSWP at Buckeye Shepherd’s Symposium. The honorees:

  • Robert Gucker, McCutchenville, board member representing OSWP District 1 for nine years.
  • David Inbody, Bluffton, OSIA board of trustees representing Purebred breeders for six years.
  • Leslie Jordan, Marion, OSIA board of trustees representing Purebred breeders for two years.
  • Val Jorgensen, Westerville, OSIA board of tustees representing Lamb Feeders for six years.
  • Susan Crowell, Salem, Farm and Dairy editor.
  • Ohio Farm Bureau Federation Accounting Department, Irene Messmer, Bill Riddle, Tammy Moore, and Teri Weathers, Columbus

New officers and trustees elected

During the Ohio Sheep Improvement Association annual meeting Dec. 8, elections were held for open officer and Board of Trustees positions. Officers elected included Daryl Clark, President, Muskingum County; Shawn Ray, Noble County, Vice-President; Mark McCabe; Marion County, Secretary/Treasurer and Jim Percival, Greene County, Past President.

OSIA Board members re-elected to serve two year terms included: Andy Korb, Butler County; Jerry Allison, Muskingum County; Don Van Nostran, Athens County. Newly elected board members include: Mike Stitzlein, Ashland County; Dusty Knapke, Auglaize County; and Kathy Bielek, Wayne County. OSIA Retiring Board members included: Leslie Jordan, Marion County; David Inbody, Hancock County; and Val Jorgensen, Franklin

Callie Wells 

Callie Wells is the director of digital communications for Ohio Farm Bureau.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *