Capital Challenge first place team - Ag Ed Policy Development.

Youths awarded in Capital Challenge competition

For Immediate Release

August 14, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio (OFBF) – Engaging young people in democracy was the goal of the first ever Ohio Youth Capital Challenge. The contest, sponsored by Ohio 4-H, Ohio FFA and the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation brought together youth ages 14-18 from around the state to discuss community issues and concerns then to work together to propose policies and programs to solve the issues.

The winning team’s project was called Ohio Agricultural Education Development Policy. Group members were Madison Campbell of Archbold; Britta Fenstermaker of McComb; Matthew Klopfenstein of Haviland, and Kalyn Swihart of Perrysburg. Each team member received a $100.00 scholarship.

The group advocated that Ohio students should have a basic understanding of agriculture as it relates to food, nutrition, economic growth for Ohio and workforce development. They proposed that a basic knowledge of agriculture be included through existing STEM education for grades K-12.

Second place went to the project Pasture to Plate, advocating agricultural literacy. Group members included Justine Moran of Coshocton, Andrea Kackley of Pleasant City, Mason Wiseman of Roseville and Samantha Goodhart of Quaker City.

Third place was awarded to the Community Garden project with team members Daniel Horton of Findlay, Michalea Breece of Alvada, Britta Fenstermaker of McComb, Cody McClain of Nevada and Sierra Miller of Upper Sandusky. The team created a community garden with online plot reservations.

Judges for the event were Ohio Supreme Court Justice Judy French, Franklin County Commissioner Marilyn Brown and Craig Butler, Governor Kasich’s Assistant Policy Director for Environment, Energy, and Agriculture.

French said, “I was really impressed by the quality of the student presentations. They were thoughtful and thorough. They presented some great ideas.” Butler was also pleased and shared, “This program is an outstanding example of how important agriculture is in Ohio and how important our future agriculture leaders are to this state. This is an excellent program and I encourage many more students to participate.”

Photo Captions:

First place team (Ag Ed Policy Development)

Judy French (judge)

Britta Fenstermaker (McComb, Hancock County)

Madison Campbell (Archbold, Fulton County)

Kalyn Swihart (Peffysburg, Wood County)

Matthew Klomfenstein (Haviland, Paulding County)

Craig Butler (judge)

Second place team (Pasture to Plate)

Justine Moran (Coshocton, Coshocton County)

Mason Wiseman (Zanesville, Muskingum County)

Andrea Cackley (Pleasant City, Guernsey County)

Samantha Goodhart (Quaker City, Noble County)

Third place Team (Community Garden)

Daniel Horton (Findlay, Hancock County)

Michalea Breece (Alveda, Hancock County)

Sierra Miller (Upper Sandusky, Wyandot County)

Cody McClain (Nevada, Wyandot County)


CONTACT: Joe Cornely

PHONE: (614) 246-8230

E-MAIL: [email protected]