From left: J.L. Draganic, Jim Croskey, Cynthia Koonce, Tom LeFevre, Bill Shoup,Lucy Sondles and Don Sharp.

Farm Bureau members receive stewardship, good neighbor awards

Buckeye Farm News

The Ohio Livestock Coalition recently named five Ohio farmers as the recipients of the 2013 Environmental Stewardship Award. In addition, two rural residents were recognized for the Neighbor of the Year Award. All of this year’s recipients are Farm Bureau members.

Environmental Stewardship Award Winners

The Environmental Stewardship Award recognizes the many accomplishments made by family farmers to protect Ohio’s land, air and water quality and to conserve the state’s natural resources.

The 2013 Environmental Stewardship Awards were presented to: Sheep: Blue Heron Farm (Duane Miller and Cynthia Koonce) of Lisbon Dairy: Sharp Family Dairy of Amanda Beef: J.L. and Jessica Draganic of South Solon Poultry: LeFevre Farms of Fort Recovery Pork: Shoup Brothers Farm Ltd. of Smithville.

Neighbor of the Year Award Winners

The Neighbor of the Year Award recognizes two rural residents — one farmer and one non-farmer — who have positively developed and enhanced relationships between neighbors in Ohio’s farm communities. The recipients of this year’s award are James and Shirley Croskey, of Holmesville, for the farmer award and Lucy Sondles, of Wadsworth, for the non-farmer award.

Ohio Farm Bureau is a member of the Ohio Livestock Coalition, a statewide trade organization consisting of diverse agriculture organizations and individual farmers committed to advancing environmentally friendly, socially responsible and economically viable livestock farming practices.

Lynn Snyder 

Lynn Snyder is senior director of communications for Ohio Farm Bureau.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *