Congressman Visits New Districts

Congressman Turner Meets with Farm Bureau Leaders

Xenia, Ohio, With the loss of two congressional seats and the redistricting of the remaining 16 districts many U.S. House of Representatives found themselves with new districts and new constituents. One of those impacted by the new districts was Congressman Turner of Dayton. The Congressman now represents all of Montgomery, Greene, and the northern half of Fayette Counties.

 Knowing the importance of meeting new local leaders within his district one of his first priorities was to reach out to both Greene and Fayette County Farm Bureaus. Farm Bureau has been a long time supporter of Congressman Turner and he has been recognized with Farm Bureau’s prestigious, “Friend of Agriculture” award for his continual support of agriculture while serving in the U.S. House of Representatives. Locally, Congressman Turner has always made himself very accessible to the farming community was even the keynote speaker at Clinton County Farm Bureau’s 2011 Annual Meeting, when it was a part of his former district.


The meeting was held at the pristine farm of Craig Corry, a long time farmer and educator from Greene County. Congressman Turner addressed many of the existing issues currently facing Washington, D.C. and how he felt was the best way to solve them. Farm Bureau leaders from both counties spoke to issues with him concerning everything from the stagnant Farm Bill to SNAP benefits, and rural degradation. Congressman Turner lamented over the fact that a Farm Bill, supported by the Farm Bureau, failed to pass earlier this year. Although he voted for it, five Ohio Representatives; Joyce Beatty, Steve Chabot, Jim Jordan, Marcy Kaptur, Tim Ryan, and Brad Wenstrup did not. Agriculture is Ohio’s largest industry and passage of a sustainable Farm Bill is one of Farm Bureau’s top priorities. 


The meeting was extremely positive and Congressman Turners continues to be an ally of agriculture in the U.S. House of Representatives.


Devin Trout is the media and marketing specialist for Franklin County Farm Bureau and designer for Edible Columbus. She is a Columbus Pittie Committee foster and active with the Central Ohio Young Ag Professionals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *