2014-15 AgriPOWER Class

20 Ohioans Participating in Intensive Agricultural Leadership Program

For Immediate Release

August 12, 2014

COLUMBUS, Ohio (OFBF) – Twenty farmers and agribusiness professionals from across the state have been selected by the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation (OFBF) to participate in the 2014-2015 AgriPOWER Institute.

OFBF launched AgriPOWER in 2008 as an elite training program designed to help participants become leaders and advocates for agriculture. The yearlong program consists of seven two-to-three-day training sessions that focus on public policy issues confronting agriculture and the food industry.

Participants are Brooke Beam of Sabina, Jarred Black of Delaware, Adam Campbell of Waynesville, Christen Clemson of Johnston, Jenny Cox of Dresden, Ashley Culp of Hilliard, Marlene Eick of Radnor, Rebekah Headings of Plain City, Caitlyn Heimerl of Radnor, Kayla Jones of Newark, Kent Jorgensen of Powell, Lyndsey Murphy of Plain City, Benjamin Richardson of Wooster, Roshelle Rowe of Fostoria, Hannah Scott of Georgetown, Greg Simpson of Milford, Wade Smith of Whitehouse, Tom Somrack of Newbury, Rachael Vonderhaar of Camden and Kristy Watters of West Union.

AgriPOWER topics covered include public policy issues facing local communities, the state of Ohio, the nation and the world. Specific sessions help class members develop important skills necessary to becoming an effective leader and advocate, including spokesperson and media training, etiquette training, social networking, communications and more. One of the institute programs will be held in Washington, D.C. to help class members gain a valuable understanding of national and global issues.

“The agriculture industry is constantly evolving and diversifying. Now more than ever, there is a demand for trained leaders to take the industry to the next level,” said Melinda Witten, AgriPOWER coordinator. “This is really the purpose of AgriPOWER. AgriPOWER graduates are prepared to become the future leaders and advocates for agriculture.”

In addition to OFBF, AgriPOWER partners include Nationwide Insurance, Ohio Soybean Council, Southern Ohio Agricultural & Community Development Foundation, Farm Credit Mid-America, Ohio Pork Council, Ohio Corn Marketing Program, Ohio Small Grains Marketing Program, AgriPOWER alumni, Wright & Moore Law, Kalmbach Feeds, Hydro Systems Co. and Farm Bureaus in Brown, Clinton, Franklin, Geauga, Licking and Muskingum counties.

For additional information about AgriPOWER, visit ofb.ag/agripower or contact OFBF at (614) 246-8224 or e-mail [email protected].


CONTACT: Melinda Witten

PHONE: (614) 519-8761

E-MAIL: [email protected]