The Fairfield County Farm Bureau Annual Meeting

The Fairfield County Farm Bureau’s 93rd Annual Meeting was held on Thursday, August 21, 2014 at the Liberty Center with a Meet and Greet/Candidate’s Reception at 6 p.m. with dinner at 6:30 p.m.  Approximately 43 people attended the event.  A Big Thanks to Nikki Schmelzer for organizing the event.  The meat was prepared by Bowers and Son and the food by Carnival Foods.

Congressman Steve Stivers spoke briefly on the Farm Bill and Organization Director Ashley Schwieterman presented him with the Friend of Agriculture award.

Organization Action Team Leader Nikki Schmelzer presented the scholarship awards to:  Katerina Sharp and Molly Michael.  Katerina received the Farm Bureau Roger Wolfe Memorial Scholarship.  She is the daughter of Scott and Joy Sharp and a recent graduate of Amanda Clearcreek High School.  She will attend the Ohio State University and major in Agricultural Communications.  Molly is the daughter of Michael and Melissa Michael and a recent graduate of Bloom Carroll High School.  She will attend the Ohio State University in Newark and major in Animal Sciences.  Congratulations Katerina and Molly!  They each received a $250 check.

 Sarah presented the nominees for the board:  Brent Palsgrove, Josh Berry, Nikki Schmelzer and Ben Ream.   She also presented the delegates to the 2015 OFBF Annual Meeting:  Brent Palsgrove, Kyle Sharp, Derek Schmitt and alternate Hart Van Horn.  President Sarah Martin secures a seat as county president. 

Members voted and all policies, board members and delegates passed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *