The Perry County Farm Bureau Annual Meeting

The Perry County Farm Bureau Annual Meeting was held on Thursday, September 11, 2014 at the Senior Center in New Lexington.  A Meet and Greet/Candidate’s Reception was held at 6 p.m. with dinner at 6:30 p.m.  KD BBQ catered the event.  Approximately 58 people attended the event. Wilber Barnes gave a short speech about the flag and he led us with the Pledge of Allegiance.  Perry County Auditor Teresa Stevenson gave the invocation.  KD BBQ provided us with a delicious meal.

Guest Speaker Congressman Steve Stivers spoke about the Farm Bill and the Death Tax.  He asked for a moment of silence to remember 9/11.  Organization Director Ashley Schwieterman presented Congressman Steve Stivers with the Friend of Ag award.

Linda presented the nominees to the board:  Edna Colwell and Linda Benedict and nominees for the delegates to the OFBF Annual Meeting in 2015:  Linda Seals secures a seat as President; Edna Colwell, Linda Benedict and Jane Foulk as alternate. All policies, nominees to the board and delegates were voted in.  There were two write-ins:  Cathy Emmert and Scott Emmert.  Cathy accepted her nomination to the board.  Scott was not in attendance and will need to be asked if he would like to serve on the board.  If he would like to serve on the board, the board members will need to vote him in.

Linda presented the President’s Award to Wilma Woltz!

Linda presented the $500 scholarship to Adrienne Emmert.  Adrienne is the daughter of Scott and Cathy Emmert and a recent graduate of New Lexington High School.  She will major in Associates of Applied Sciences in Registered Nursing and attend Central Ohio Technical College.  Congratulations Adrienne!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *