Supreme Court Justices Named ‘Friend of Agriculture’

COLUMBUS, Ohio (OFBF) – Incumbent Ohio Supreme Court Justices Judith French and Sharon Kennedy have both been named a “Friend of Agriculture” by Ohio Farm Bureau Federation’s Agriculture for Good Government Political Action Committee (AGGPAC).

“Friend of Agriculture” is an official designation that identifies elected officials who have supported the public policy goals of Farm Bureau. Both French and Kennedy are up for election next month and should remain on the Ohio Supreme Court, said Jack Fisher, Ohio Farm Bureau’s executive vice president.

“We are proud to say Justice French and Justice Kennedy are receiving the ‘Friend of Agriculture’ award. They share our values and work hard to protect families statewide,” Fisher said. “They take the time to listen to our issues and are committed to enforcing the rule of law and not legislating from the bench.”

French has been on the Ohio Supreme Court since Jan. 1, 2013 when she was appointed to fill a vacancy. Previously, she was a judge on the Tenth District Court of Appeals for eight years and served as chief legal counsel to former Gov. Bob Taft for two years. From 1997 to 2002 she was an assistant attorney general and chief counsel in the attorney general’s office. She has argued two cases before the U.S. Supreme Court, including as lead counsel on a case involving the state’s school voucher system.

In 2012 Kennedy was elected to an unexpired term on the Ohio Supreme Court, winning 85 of 88 counties. Prior to becoming a supreme court justice, she was an administrative judge of the Butler County Court of Common Pleas, Domestic Relations Division. She began her career in the justice system as a police officer for the city of Hamilton and also was special counsel for Attorney General Betty D. Montgomery.


The Agriculture for Good Government Political Action Committee (AGGPAC) is Ohio Farm Bureau’s political action committee that routinely monitors the voting records and political campaigns of Ohio’s elected officials at the state and national levels. Funding for AGGPAC comes from voluntary contributions by Farm Bureau members and is governed by a committee of bi-partisan Farm Bureau leaders.


Devin Trout is the media and marketing specialist for Franklin County Farm Bureau and designer for Edible Columbus. She is a Columbus Pittie Committee foster and active with the Central Ohio Young Ag Professionals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *