Fayette County member (one of four) honored at the 96th OFBF Annual Meeting

December 12, 2014

COLUMBUS, Ohio (OFBF) – Ohio Farm Bureau Federation (OFBF) honored four individuals Dec. 11 for their lifelong contributions to agriculture.

Distinguished Service Awards were presented to William Batchelder, speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives, and agriculturalist William “Bart” Montgomery. John Davis received the Cooperative/Agriculture Educator award, and Celeste Baumgartner was honored with the Agricultural Communicator Award.

The awards recognize the outstanding careers of individuals who have contributed to agriculture, their communities and Ohio Farm Bureau. Nominations for the awards came from county Farm Bureaus and individual members. The presentation was made during Ohio Farm Bureau’s 96th annual meeting held Dec. 10-12 in Columbus.  

Bart Montgomery, (Farm Bureau member for almost 50 years), a Fayette County Farm Bureau member and farmer, started out as an Ohio Farm Bureau youth participant in the 1940s and advanced to serving as treasurer and vice president of the Ohio Farm Bureau board of trustees. In 1985 he was elected to the Nationwide Board of Directors and served nine years. He was on the board of directors for the Fayette County Landmark Co-op, served seven years on the state Producers Livestock board, was an adviser for a hog and beef cattle 4-H club for 25 years and served 10 years as treasurer of the Fayette County Commission on Aging. He is a 60-year Masonic Lodge member.



Devin Trout is the media and marketing specialist for Franklin County Farm Bureau and designer for Edible Columbus. She is a Columbus Pittie Committee foster and active with the Central Ohio Young Ag Professionals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *