OFBF rallies around Victoria Shaw, Discussion Meet competitor

Members represent Ohio Farm Bureau at AFBF Annual Convention

Ohio Farm Bureau members are in San Diego for American Farm Bureau’s 96th Annual Convention through Jan. 14.

Victoria Shaw of Medina County advanced to the Sweet 16 round of American Farm Bureau’s Young Farmers and Ranchers Discussion Meet Competition. She tackled privitizing federal rangelands and crop insurance her first two rounds of competition, and then food policy in the Sweet 16 Round. The Final Four contestants are from Tennessee, Iowa, Illinois and Indiana.

Kristin Reese of Fairfield County and Kelly and Michelle Abfall of Athens County competed in the Young Farmers and Ranchers Excellence in Agriculture and Achievement Awards, respectively.

Congratulations to all of Ohio’s Young Agricultural Professionals for representing our state so well.

Six county Farm Bureaus are winners in the 2015 American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) County Activities of Excellence Awards (CAE) program. They are the Champaign, Franklin, Gallia, Knox, Muskingum and Tuscarawas county Farm Bureaus.

In addition, Ohio Farm Bureau received two awards from the American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture. The Apex Award is presented to state Farm Bureaus that have increased total investment in the foundation by 10 percent or more over the previous year. The Scholar Award is given to the six state Farm Bureaus with the highest total donations within their membership groups.

The Foundation named its Book of the Year: The Apple Orchard Riddle, by Margaret McNamara. In this playful and humorous story, the students learn a lot about apples and apple orchards–including how apples are harvested, how cider is made and different apple varieties–all while trying to solve a riddle.

Follow the activities in San Diego via Twitter, Storify and see our Facebook photo album.


Lynn Snyder 

Lynn Snyder is senior director of communications for Ohio Farm Bureau.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *