AgriPOWER graduates

Nineteen leaders graduate from AgriPOWER Institute Class VI

For Immediate Release

March 30, 2015

COLUMBUS, Ohio (OFBF) – Nineteen select leaders and advocates recently graduated from Ohio Farm Bureau Federation’s (OFBF) AgriPOWER Institute Class VI. The intensive, yearlong leadership training program was launched in 2008 to help farmers and agricultural professionals gain influence over public policy issues that impact their businesses.

Class VI graduates are: Brooke Beam of Sabina, Jarred Black of Delaware, Adam Campbell of Waynesville, Christen Clemson of Johnston, Jenny Cox of Dresden, Ashley Culp of Genoa, Marlene Eick of Radnor, Rebekah Headings of Plain City, Caitlyn Heimerl of Radnor, Kent Jorgensen of Powell, Lyndsey Murphy of Washington, D.C., Benjamin Richardson of Wooster, Roshelle Rowe of Fostoria, Hannah Scott of Georgetown, Greg Simpson of Milford, Wade Smith of Whitehouse, Tom Somrack of Newbury, Rachael Vonderhaar of Camden and Kristy Watters of Winchester.

Over the last year, AgriPOWER participants attended intensive multi-day sessions where they learned about public policy issues facing local communities, the state of Ohio, the nation and the world. The sessions helped participants develop important skills necessary to becoming an effective leader and advocate including spokesperson and media training, etiquette training, social networking, communications and more.

“These graduates were already leaders in their communities and various organizations, and now AgriPOWER has given them the tools and network to continue to grow and to lead at a higher level,” said Melinda Witten, AgriPOWER coordinator.

In addition to Ohio Farm Bureau, AgriPOWER partners include Nationwide Insurance, Ohio Soybean Council, Southern Ohio Agricultural & Community Development Foundation, Farm Credit Mid-America, Ohio Pork Council, Ohio Corn and Wheat Growers Association, AgriPOWER alumni, Wright & Moore Law, Kalmbach Feeds, Hydro Systems Co. and Farm Bureaus in Brown, Clinton, Franklin, Geauga, Licking, Madison and Muskingum counties.

Applications for the next class, Class VII, are due April 17.

For additional information about AgriPOWER, visit or contact OFBF at (614) 519-8761 or e-mail [email protected].


CONTACT: Joe Cornely

PHONE: (614) 246-8230

E-MAIL: [email protected]