Updates from the Ohio Farm Bureau 98th annual meeting

Ohio Farm Bureau members and guests were in Columbus Nov. 30-Dec. 2 for the 98th annual meeting and fourth annual Ohio Farm and Food Leadership Forum. Staff shared updates and photos from the meeting on Twitter, Facebook and Snapchat, too.

Nov. 30

Highlights from the day included the Young Agricultural Professionals Discussion Meet semi-finals, the Ohio Farm and Food Leadership Forum and the Community Tradeshow. Discussion Meet semi-finalists will be announced at the Harvest Banquet Thursday evening, Dec. 1.

Other highlights from the day were a panel discussion of our newest member benefit – the Health Benefits Plan, a session about how to successfully engage in ag conversation via social media and how to leave a big impression about key ag issues with lawmakers in a minimal amount of time.

Keynote lunch speaker was Tim Hodges, director of research at Gallop. The Ohio Farm and Leadership Forum closed with sessions about effective techniques to gain members and information from Nationwide Agribusiness.

Here is a photo album from the day, filled with pictures of the speakers, Discussion Meet, trade show and the Foundation auction. Photos are being added to this album daily.

Dec. 1

The day’s events include Ohio Farm Bureau President Frank Burkett III’s address, presentation of policies to the delegates, remarks from Nationwide CEO Steve Rasmussen, Adam Sharp’s executive vice president address, county Farm Bureau recognition, the presentation of the Distinguished Service Award to Jack Fisher and recognition of Young Agricultural Professionals contest winners. Discussion Meet finalists were announced.

The Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation received some major gifts from Nationwide, Farm Credit Mid-America and Ohio Farm Bureau.

County Farm Bureaus were honored for outstanding programs.

Dec. 2

Policy discussion wrapped up, and trustee elections were held:

Policy recap

Frank Burkett III was re-elected president.

Bill Patterson was re-elected first vice president

Cy Prettyman was re-elected treasurer.

Craig Adams, Adams County

Mike Bensman, Shelby County

Paul Harrison, Seneca County

Jerry Lahmers, Tuscarawas County

John Mossbarger, Fayette County

Mike Poling, Van Wert County

Kyle Smith was newly elected as Southwest Regional Trustee. He is from Clark County.

Mike Videkovich, Pickaway County

Chris Weaver, Williams County

Ohio Farm Bureau membership

Lynn Snyder 

Lynn Snyder is senior director of communications for Ohio Farm Bureau.

One thought on “Updates from the Ohio Farm Bureau 98th annual meeting

  1. Avatar Aslam maruf says:

    The Supreme Court of
    Ohio is that the highest authority dominant the observe of law in Ohio. Before being
    permissible to observe in Ohio, an attorney should receive an academic degree from a graduate school
    approved by the yank Bar Association. If an attorney attended a graduate school inside
    Ohio, the varsity ought to be a member of the League of Ohio Law
    colleges. Once getting an academic degree, a candidate for admission to
    the Ohio bar should pass a background check, with success complete an exam, and Associate in Nursing take an oath of workplace. The
    attorney is then formally granted the title of lawyer and attorney, and will observe in any Ohio court. To observe in an exceedingly tribunal, the
    lawyer might have to pass extra examinations on federal law in sure jurisdictions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *