Crop edge_2118x1188

Free nutrient management plans still available for Western Lake Erie Basin producers

Four educators are available this winter to help farmers in the Western Lake Erie Basin develop Nutrient Management Plans (NMPs). Ohio State University Extension educators Tony Campbell, Linda Lauber, Jessie Schulze and Brittany Sieler are developing the plans at no cost to farmers in the 22-county WLEB. Ohio Farm Bureau helped provide funding for their hiring as part of its $1 million Water Quality Action Plan. Having a nutrient management plan can help farmers improve water quality, potentially reduce costs and increase yields on their farms.

The NMP writers will be on hand in most counties in the Western Lake Erie Basin on select days this winter (see schedule below) to answer questions and help farmers gather data needed to prepare for the NMP.

The plans provide both fertility recommendations and an environmental site risk for fields that help identify resource concerns impacting nutrient and sediment loss. To date 33 plans covering 17,877 acres in Allen, Defiance, Fulton, Henry, Lucas, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Van Wert, Williams and Wood Counties in Ohio and Lenawee County, Mich., have been completed.

Please RSVP if you plan to attend one of the days listed by contacting Jessie Schulze at 419-782-4771 or [email protected]. Just provide your name, phone number, plus preferred county, date and arrival time  (9 a.m.-noon) or (noon-3 p.m.). More information can be found at go.osu.edu/nutrientplanners.

County Location Dates Time
Allen  

Youth Activity Building, 2750 Harding Highway, Lima

 

Tuesday, March 21
Tuesday, March 28

 

9 am – 3 pm

Auglaize  

Extension Office, 208 S. Blackhoof St., Wapakoneta

 

Wednesday, Feb. 8, Wednesday, March 22

 

9 am – 3 pm

Crawford  

Extension Office, 112 East Mansfield St., Bucyrus

 

Thursday, Feb. 2
Tuesday, March 14

 

9 am – 3 pm

Defiance  

Extension Office, 6879 Evansport Road, Defiance

 

Tuesday, Jan. 24
Wednesday, March 29

 

9 am – 3 pm

Erie  

Extension Office, 2900 Columbus Ave, Sandusky

 

Tuesday, Jan. 31
Thursday, March 16

 

9 am – 3 pm

Fulton  

Extension Office, Buckeye Room, 8770 State Route 108, Wauseon

 

Tuesday, Jan. 10
Tuesday, Feb. 7

 

9 am – 3 pm

Hancock  

Please visit a surrounding county due to building renovations.

Hardin  

Extension Office, 1021 W. Lima St., Kenton

 

Tuesday, Feb. 14

Thursday, March 30

 

9 am – 3 pm

Henry  

Conference Room, 1st Floor Hahn Center, 104 E. Washington Street, Napoleon

 

Wednesday, Jan. 25

Wednesday, Feb. 15

 

9 am – 3 pm

Lucas  

Toledo Botanical Gardens, 5434 West Bancroft, Toledo

 

Wednesday, Jan. 11

Thursday, Feb. 23

 

9 am – 3 pm

Ottawa  

Extension Office, 240 W. Lake St., Oak Harbor

 

Thursday, Jan. 12

Thursday, Feb. 16

 

9 am – 3 pm

Paulding  

Youth Leadership Building, 503 Fairground Dr., Paulding

 

Tuesday, Jan. 3

Wednesday, Feb. 1

 

9 am – 3 pm

Putnam  

Extension Office, 1206 East Second St., Ottawa

 

Thursday, Feb. 9

Wednesday, March 15

 

9 am – 3 pm

Sandusky  

Extension Office, 2000 Countryside Dr., Fremont

 

Tuesday, Jan. 17

Tuesday, Feb. 28

 

9 am – 3 pm

Seneca  

Extension Office, 3140 South State Route 100, Tiffin

 

Thursday, Jan. 26

Thursday, March 9

 

9 am – 3 pm

Van Wert  

Extension Office, 1055 S. Washington St., Van Wert

 

Tuesday, Feb. 21

Wednesday, March 8

 

9 am – 3 pm

Williams  

Extension Office, 1425 East High St., Bryan

 

Wednesday, Jan. 18

Tuesday, March 7

 

9 am – 3 pm

Wood  

Basement Conference Room, 639 S. Dunbridge Road, Bowling Green

 

Thursday, Jan. 19

Wednesday, March 1

 

9 am – 3 pm

Wyandot  

Extension Office, 109 South Sandusky Ave., Upper Sandusky

 

Thursday, Jan. 5

Wednesday, Feb. 22

 

9 am – 3 pm

 

Ohio Farm Bureau membership

Amy Graves 

Amy Graves is a freelance writer from Franklin County.