Burch wins Ohio Farm Bureau Discussion Meet

Danielle Burch of Salem is the winner of the 2017 Ohio Farm Bureau Young Ag Professionals Discussion Meet. The annual contest tests participants’ subject knowledge, problem solving abilities and personal and small group communications skills.

The final round of the competition was held during Ohio Farm Bureau’s Young Agricultural Professionals Winter Leadership Conference Feb. 3 in Columbus.

Burch won a $1,000 cash award from Nationwide Insurance, a Polaris Most Versatile Generator and an expense-paid trip to the 2017 OFBF Annual Meeting Dec. 6-8 in Columbus. She also won an expense-paid trip to the AFBF Annual Convention in January 2018 in Nashville where she will represent Ohio in the national Discussion Meet competition.

Burch, a Columbiana County Farm Bureau board member, is a county action team leader and served on the OFBF Young Ag Professionals State Committee from 2013-2016. She received her bachelor’s degree in political science and history at the University of Mount Union in Alliance and master’s degree in education at St. Joseph’s University in Philadelphia. She teaches at United Local High School in Hanoverton.

Burch and her husband, Andrew, have two children and operate a 250-acre dairy farm in Salem, where she is a member of the Winona Fire Department Auxiliary and Hanoverton Church of Christ.

The other finalists were Shana Angel of Bolivar, Katie Lee of Magnolia and Micaela Wright of Arcanum.

The Discussion Meet is hosted by Ohio Farm Bureau’s Young Agricultural Professionals – singles and married couples ages 18 to 35 who are interested in improving the business of agriculture, learning new ideas and developing leadership skills. To learn more about the Discussion Meet and the Young Ag Professionals program, visit experienceyap.com.

This is a news release for use by journalists. Questions should be directed to Joe Cornely, 614-246-8230.

Editors:  A high resolution photo of Ms. Burch is available to accompany this story.

Caption: Danielle Burch of Columbiana County (left) won Ohio Farm Bureau Young Ag Professionals’ 2017 Discussion Meet competition. YAP committee co-chairs Greg and Theresa Corcoran presented the cash portion of her award during the YAP 2017 Winter Conference.