Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation 2017 Golf Invitational

Ohio’s agricultural community and its supporters came together June 26 at Jefferson Golf & Country Club in Blacklick for the annual Golf Invitational. More than $69,000 was raised to help agriculture make a positive impact in Ohio’s rural, suburban and urban neighborhoods.

After the round of golf, grant recipient Aullwood Audubon Center and Farm and scholarship recipient Cody McClain were recognized. Aullwood Audobon Center and Farm is a 200-acre nature sanctuary with an educational farm and nature center in Montgomery County. It reaches nearly 60,000 students annually from 120 schools and 22 school districts in 13 counties.

cody-mcclainCody McClain is a third-year student at Ohio State University majoring in AgriScience Education with minors in production agriculture and agricultural systems management.

Aullwood and McClain are just two beneficiaries of the Foundation. Twice a year, the Foundation awards Agriculture Action and Awareness Grants to small, community based service groups. The fall grant cycle opens July 1. The Foundation also supports scholarships including the Darwin Bryan Scholarship Fund, the Women’s Leadership in Agriculture Scholarship Program, Foundation Scholar Award, Cindy Hollingshead Scholarship Fund, Jack Fisher Scholarship Fund and the Kenny Walter Scholarship Fund. Scholarship recipients are pursuing degrees in science, communications, education and public service, all focusing on agriculture.

foudation-honorees-2017Event honorees Ken Davis, second from left, and Irv Bell, center are farmers, past state Farm Bureau presidents and former members of the Nationwide board of directors. Also pictured are from left, Keith Stimpert, OFBF organization department, Executive Vice President Adam Sharp and OFBF President Frank Burkett.

Additional photos from the event and tournament results are available online. The 2018 event will take place June 25 at The Country Club at Muirfield Village.

Feature image caption: From left: Bennett Musselman, Haley Davis, Ryan Conklin and Seth Middleton.