Belmont County Farm Bureau holds successful annual meeting

President Andy Barricklow conducted the Belmont County Farm Bureau annual meeting of members Tuesday, Aug. 8, 2017, at the James Carnes Center in St. Clairsville. At this meeting, the members voted on proposed policies and selected trustees for the Board of Trustees as well as delegates to the Ohio Farm Bureau 2018 Annual Meeting.  Speaker for the event was OFBF President Frank Burkett III.

Policy issues included tax concerns and CAUV (farmland taxes), wildlife issues, trespassing laws, animal welfare, invasive weeds and commodity pricing.

Again this year was the inclusion of several area sponsors with their displays.  The approximate 150 people in attendance, which included Farm Bureau members and guests, were able to visit these displays prior to the meeting.  All in attendance were eligible to receive one of the many door prizes given away during the evening. Gold Sponsors were Barnesville Hospital, Kirke’s Homemade Ice Cream, Rice Energy, and Whiteside. The Silver Sponsors were Belmont Mills, Kuester Implement and Riesbeck’s Food Markets. Bronze Sponsors included AgLand Co-op, Belmont Equipment, Belmont Petroleum Corp, D & J Sales, Milleson Insurance Agency, Pines Edge Farms and WesBanco Bank.

Gloria Adkins was the recipient of the Glenna Cain Distinguished Service Award.  She was recognized for her many years of dedication to the organization as office administrator at the Belmont County Farm Bureau.

The gavel of the president was passed from Andy Barricklow to Rusty Winland.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *