Coverage from the 99th American Farm Bureau Annual Convention

Monday, Jan. 8

This morning’s closing General Session features the announcement of the Young Farmer and Rancher competition results, the Rural Entrepreneurship Challenge Awards, remarks from Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue, and keynote speaker Reba McEntire. Watch live at noon Central time.

This afternoon, President Donald Trump will address the group. Watch live at 3 p.m. Central time

At the conclusion of his remarks, Trump signed two executive orders to expand access to broadband internet in rural America. Read more

Trump Executive Orders
President Trump signs two executive orders to expand broadband access in rural America.









Greg and Rose Hartschuh from Crawford County won the national Excellence in Agriculture competition. Details

Sunday, Jan. 7

Greg and Rose Hartschuh of Crawford County are Top 10 finalists in the Excellence in Agriculture competition. Final results will be announced Monday during the General Session.

Danielle Burch of Columbiana County did not advance to the Final Four in the Discussion Meet. Congratulations to all Young Agricultural Professionals contestants.

New Horizon 2018
OFBF President Frank Burkett, left, accepts the New Horizon Award from AFBF President Zippy Duvall.

Ohio Farm Bureau won the New Horizon Award for innovative programming among Farm Bureaus of similar size. Ohio was recognized for the creation of the Blanchard River Demonstration Farms Network in the Western Lake Erie Basin–a five year, $1 million partnership with USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service to demonstrate new and current on-farm conservation practices to help improve water quality and nutrient management.

Ohio also earned all six Awards of Excellence for programming in Advocacy, Engagement and Outreach, Leadership and Business Development and Membership Value. Read American Farm Bureau’s awards recap.

Watch the General Session Live 9:30 a.m. Central

Watch the Excellence in Ag, Discussion Meet Final Four Announcements 5 p.m. Central

At the American Farm Bureau Foundation breakfast, state Farm Bureaus were recognized for exemplary financial support of the American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture.

Ohio was among six state Farm Bureaus receiving the Scholar Award, which recognizes states with the highest total donations to the Foundation within their membership groups.

The Foundation’s Book of the Year was also announced. Tracy Nelson Maurer’s “John Deere, That’s Who!” describes a young blacksmith’s quest to design a better plow.

Saturday, Jan. 6

Excellence in Agriculture winners Greg and Rose Hartschuh made their competition presentation this morning at 9 a.m.

Greg, Rose Hartschuh
Greg and Rose Hartschuh








Discussion Meet winner Danielle Burch competed in the first two rounds of the Discussion Meet.

Danielle Burch
Danielle Burch. Photo by AFBF.










Update: Danielle is a Sweet 16 finalist and will compete Sunday afternoon.

Excellence in Ag finalists announcement is Sunday at 5 p.m.

Ohio Farm Bureau is proud of the efforts of Outstanding Young Farmer Christian Hoffman. Today was his last day of competition.

The IDEAg Trade Show opened this afternoon and the day ended with a reception for members hosted by Nationwide, with remarks from Nationwide board member and past Ohio Farm Bureau president Brent Porteus and Nationwide CEO Steve Rasmussen.

Posted Friday, Jan 5:

Many Ohio Farm Bureau members and staff are in Nashville to celebrate this past year’s achievements and represent Ohio as Farm Bureau policy priorities are set for the coming year.

Check in on this page for LIVE updates from Music City at the American Farm Bureau’s 99th annual convention Jan. 6-10.

Seven Ohio county Farm Bureau projects were chosen to participate in the County Activities of Excellence program, and young agricultural professionals Christian Hoffman, Greg and Rose Hartschuh and Danielle Burch will be competing in the national Young Farmer, Excellence in Agriculture and Discussion Meet contests, respectively.  

Speakers in include Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue, American Farm Bureau President Zippy Duvall and Reba McIntire. President Donald Trump is also scheduled to speak.

You can also follow the action as it’s happening on OFBF’s social media through Facebook and by following the #AFBF18 hashtag on Twitter.

Our partner, Nationwide, is a sponsor of this event.