2018 Youth Capital Challenge

2018 Ohio Youth Capital Challenge semi-finalists

Exceptional community citizenship is one of the values that makes FFA, 4-H and Farm Bureau such successful organizations. These groups are partnering on the 2018 Ohio Youth Capital Challenge program, giving teens the opportunity to get involved in issues affecting Ohio communities and take part in a hands-on experience that will enable them to make their communities better.

In Ohio Youth Capital Challenge, youths ages 14 to 18 from around the state discuss community concerns and then work together to propose policies and programs to solve the issues.

Following an initial kickoff meeting in Columbus in March, the 41 youth selected for the challenge were assigned to teams. The teams continued to meet to work through a public policy issue of their choosing and present their solution.

The following four teams are semi-finalists and will be competing for cash prizes in the finals during the Ohio State Fair. They are pictured clockwise:

Team 1: Whitney Bauman, Carlie Cluxton, and Bonnie Simpkins, all from Adams County

Team 4: Olivia Langwasser and Madison Withrow, Delaware County and Cori Lee and Aubrey Moser, Union County 

Team 6:  Cassidy Vanderveer, Fulton County and Megan Mawhorter, Emilie Fisher and Reegan Kehres, Lucas County

Team 8: Andrew Moyer, Clinton County, Shelby Nicholl, Logan County and Kyra Davidson, Clermont County.

Online extra

2017 Ohio Youth Capital Challenge winners