The 2018 annual meeting of the Geauga County Farm Bureau was held recently at the Banquet Room at St. Mary’s in Chardon. This year marked the joining with Geauga SWCD for its annual meeting, which resulted in a wonderful night of “honoring Ohio agriculture!”

The evening began with a social reception. This was the opportunity to speak with elected officials and candidates running for public office, a very active part of Farm Bureau, working closely with our legislators.

After “Our Harvest Dinner” and some Farm Bureau elections and voting on policy resolutions to be worked on in 2019,  the Geauga County Farm Bureau and SWCD took time to honor some very special members and guests.

Two family farms were recognized as Ohio Bicentennial Farms: the Clarke/Sudyk farm and the Haskins/Cook farm. Janelle Mead, deputy director with the Ohio Department of Agriculture, presented each family with a certificate from the state of Ohio.


Five outstanding Farm Bureau members and college students were recipients of the 2018 Leadership Awards: Joshua Loveland, Anna Montazzoli, Meghan O’Reilly, Anna Sevich and Tim Steimle. A major effort of the Geauga County Farm Bureau is to use our financial resources to support the future of agriculture.


Over the past few years, Ohio Farm Bureau has created a Member of Distinction award, giving each county the opportunity to recognize an outstanding member.  This year, Craig Sirna, was selected in Geauga County.  A Farm Bureau member for over 15 years, Craig is the owner of Sirna’s Farm & Market and Sirna’s Pizzeria along with his wife, Anne, where they make pizza in the “farm to table” style.  A retired police officer of 34 years and first-generation farmer, Craig and his family entered farming in 1997. Craig’s passion has been building the community around him and he devotes his time to many causes. He is everyone’s friend and sacrifices his time to lend others a helping hand.  

SWCD Special Awards included Thomas Kartley, Hay & Grain Best of Show; Dan Best, Big Tree Winner; Poster Contest winners: Michael Yeager, Caroline Yeager, Josselyn Mumm, Zoe Virant, Elizabeth Passow, Leah Bass and Ava Morano; and Teacher of the Year, Amy Hochschild.

Mandy Orahood, our organization director, thanked our Farm Bureau Action Team Leaders: Todd Montazzoli and Kevin Holy – Organization, Jerry Mitchell – Public Policy and Craig Sirna – Membership Coordinator. These dedicated volunteers are the hands of the organization.

We are looking forward to 2019, working together with county organizations, offering great programs and services to our members and our communities!

OFBF Mission: Working together for Ohio farmers to advance agriculture and strengthen our communities.

Farm Bureau is an incredible organization that has given me countless professional development opportunities in addition to advocating for all sizes and types of farmers.
Shana Angel's avatar
Shana Angel

Tuscarawas County Farm Bureau

If it wasn't for Farm Bureau, I personally, along with many others, would not have had the opportunity to meet with our representatives face to face in Washington, D.C.
Austin Heil's avatar
Austin Heil

Hardin County Farm Bureau

Washington, D.C. Leadership Experience
Through its policies it brings together people in the agricultural community and invests in building vibrant communities that support agriculture.
Eric Bernstein 's avatar
Eric Bernstein

Wyandot County Farm Bureau

Future employees, leaders
If you have issues with local planning or have legal questions, someone at the Farm Bureau has the answer for you, or they’ll connect you with someone who does.
Gayle Hansen's avatar
Gayle Hansen

Cuyahoga County Farm Bureau

Hansen's Greenhouse
As a member of Farm Bureau, I am glad that this organization takes action when necessary to protect and advance agriculture.
Mary Smallsreed's avatar
Mary Smallsreed

Trumbull County Farm Bureau

Policy Development
We go to a lot of Farm Bureau events, and there’s a lot of camaraderie built because you’re meeting with people who have similar interests and goals.
Andy Hollenback's avatar
Andy Hollenback

Licking County Farm Bureau

Event Calendar
Suggested Tags: