Ohio represented in farm bill discussions

Members of the entire farm bill conference committee, nine U.S. senators and 47 U.S. representatives in all, met in early September to deliberate on and make decisions about competing language in the House and Senate versions of the farm bill, including significant differences between national conservation programs and requirements for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program.

Separate farm bills have passed in both the House of Representatives and the Senate, and the farm bill conference committee is tasked with reconciling the differences between the two bills.

Farm Bureau continues to advocate for the passage of a farm bill to help add some stability and certainty for the agriculture community through programs focused on areas such as crop insurance, conservation, dairy and trade development.

Ohio is represented on the committee by:

Sen. Sherrod Brown, appointed by Senate Democratic leader Chuck Schumer;

Rep. Bob Gibbs, R, OH-7th district in northeast Ohio who serves on the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee;

Rep. Steve Chabot, R, OH-1st district in southwest Ohio who serves on the House Foreign Affairs Committee; and

Rep. Marcia Fudge, D, OH-11th district in northeast Ohio, who serves on the House Committee on Agriculture.