A Look Back at 2018: National Awards

Ohio Farm Bureau members dominated on the national stage with eight County Activities of Excellence awards presented by the American Farm Bureau in 2018, as young ag professionals Rose and Greg Hartschuh took home the 2018 Excellence in Agriculture award after competing at American Farm Bureau’s national competition in January.

Ohio’s county Farm Bureaus also won eight of the 24 County Activities of Excellence awards presented by the American Farm Bureau. The awards celebrate unique, local, volunteer-driven programming and are models of innovation for local program development.

Ohio’s winners and projects:

• Belmont County: Veteran’s Salute

• Butler, Hamilton, Montgomery and Preble counties: Farm Safety IS a Big Deal

• Fayette County: Celebrity Chef Competition

• Jefferson County: ChickQuest

• Lucas County: Nutrient Management Meeting

• Noble County: Ag School Days

• Pike County: Rural Family Safety Day

• Wood County: Crafting Cocktails with Herbs

Finally, Ohio Farm Bureau won the New Horizon Award for innovative programming among Farm Bureaus of similar size from AFBF in 2018. Ohio was recognized for the creation of the Blanchard River Demonstration Farms Network in the Western Lake Erie Basin–a five year, $1 million partnership with USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service to demonstrate new and current on-farm conservation practices to help improve water quality and nutrient management.

In May, awards for the top Farm Bureau communications specialists in the country were presented at American Farm Bureau’s National Communications Conference. Ohio Farm Bureau picked up top honors in several categories:

  • Best Feature Story, for the Our Ohio magazine story “Drug crisis comes to rural Ohio” written by Kelli Milligan Stammen.
  • Best Single Blog Item, Editorial or Column, for Adam Sharp’s Our Ohio magazine column “Across the Table.
  • Best Promotional or Education Video or Ad, for the Together with Farmers marketing campaign.
  • Best Media Relations Event for Media Day at the Blanchard River Demonstration Farms Network.

CAPTION: Greg and Rose Hartschuh of Sycamore, center with Ohio Farm Bureau President Frank Burkett III in Nashville, were winners of the American Farm Bureau Excellence in Agriculture contest.