Crawford County Farm Bureau wraps up the year with honors

Crawford County Farm Bureau held its annual meeting Sept. 10, at the Trillium Event Center in Bucyrus. At the annual meeting trustee elections were held, delegates to represent the county at the state level were selected and public policies were voted on and approved. The approved policies will guide the Crawford County Farm Bureau for the coming year as well as provide direction for the Ohio Farm Bureau and the American Farm Bureau.

Crawford County Farm Bureau celebrated the Ohio Farm Bureau Centennial and highlighted the accomplishments of programs held during the past year and thanked the volunteers who made local activities successful. Dale Minyo, founder and farm broadcaster of the Ohio AgNet, was the guest speaker for the evening. Special awards were presented following the guest speakers address.

The Crawford County Farm Bureau honored a second inductee into the Crawford County Agricultural Hall of Fame: Milton Scheffler. Scheffler was nominated by the Crawford County Antique Farm Machinery Association where he served as a trustee. He was also very active in the cattle industry and involved in helping Crawford County youth have opportunities to show cattle at the fair. An honorary plaque was presented to his wife and another will be displayed in the permanent Crawford County Agricultural Hall of Fame. Read more about Scheffler here.


Winners of the two $500 scholarships for 2019-2020 school year were announced. The deserving Crawford County youth are Emily Rudd and Hannah Finnegan. Rudd is a 2019 graduate of Wynford High School and a freshman at Wilmington College, studying animal science and political science. Rudd is from Bucyrus and is the daughter of Matthew and Kimberly Rudd. Hannah Finnegan is a junior at the University of Akron and is studying early childhood inclusive education. Hannah is from Crestline and is the daughter of Tara and John Finnegan.


The Distinguished Service to Crawford County Farm Bureau Award is chosen by the county board of trustees for making an outstanding contribution to their local communities and the agriculture industry. This year’s award went to Rose Hartschuh. Rose served as the county Farm Bureau president from 2016 to 2017 and currently serves as an Ohio Farm Bureau state trustee. Her commitment to Farm Bureau and agriculture go far beyond that. She is also the executive director of Acres of Adventure and a key part of the Pickwick Place.


Crawford County Farm Bureau is now making plans for 2020. We seek to impact and improve the community. We strive to represent our local farmers, maintain strong relationships with elected officials, and reach out to consumers with facts about food production. If you’d like more information about Farm Bureau, or better still you’d like to help with some of our projects, please don’t hesitate to reach out. You can contact one of the county trustees or the county office at (419)747-7488 or [email protected].

Follow us on Facebook or visit our webpage,, to see what we’re doing.