2019 Hardin County Agriculture Hall of Fame

The Hardin County Agriculture Hall of Fame has announced the 2019 honorees to be inducted at the 17th annual Agriculture Hall of Fame recognition banquet. The 2019 inductees are Dean and Barbara Dulin, Madelyn Lowery, Fred Rarey, and Mark Watkins.

The banquet will be held on Tuesday, Dec. 3, beginning at 6:30 p.m. at St. John’s Evangelical Church on East Carrol Street in Kenton. The public is invited to honor these inductees and their families and to recognize their many accomplishments. The purpose of the Agriculture Hall of Fame is to recognize outstanding agricultural contributions by Hardin County people and to honor those who have brought distinction to themselves and the agricultural industry.

Gene McCluer will be the guest speaker. McCluer served as an Agriculture and Natural Resources Extension agent in Hardin County from 1988 until his retirement in 2013. For 17 years he and his family had operated a 50-cow dairy farm in Allen County, near Harrod. Today they operate the small family farm as a grain operation. He has served on the Mid-Ohio Energy Cooperative board in Kenton for 35 years, and currently serves as chairman of the board of the Ohio Rural Electric Cooperatives in Columbus.

Tickets for the Hardin County Agriculture Hall of Fame Banquet must be purchased in advance through Nov. 25. Tickets are $12 and can be reserved by calling the office (419-674-2297) or purchased from the committee members: Genny Haun, Bob McBride, Ruth Oates, Kerry Oberlitner, Gary Harpster, Steve Poling, Amanda Murphy, Bob Wood and Mark Badertscher.