Meetings offered to learn about H2Ohio funding

Beginning in February, funding for farmers interested in incentives for implementing approved nutrient management practices will be available through the state’s H2Ohio initiative in the 14 counties of the Maumee River Watershed.

Those counties are Allen, Auglaize, Defiance, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Lucas, Mercer, Paulding, Putnam, Van Wert, Williams and Wood.

Ohio Farm Bureau is encouraging members in those counties to learn more about the H2Ohio application process and the program’s conservation practices by attending upcoming meetings. The meetings will be hosted by the Ohio Department of Agriculture in conjunction with your Soil and Water Conservation District and many of Ohio’s agriculture and conservation organizations.

The meetings also will introduce a new OACI Farmer Certification program focused on conservation. This OACI Farmer Certification was developed by the Ohio Agricultural Conservation Initiative (OACI), of which Ohio Farm Bureau is a member. 

These free meetings will have important details about how the OACI Farmer Certification program will work with the H2Ohio program to ensure farmers receive funds for their commitment to continuous improvement through the implementation of science-based water quality practices.

Meetings are open to the public and attendees do not need to be a resident of the county meeting that they choose to attend. No RSVP is necessary.

H2Ohio funding meeting details

Wood/Lucas Counties
Feb. 4
3 p.m.
Veterans Hall, Owens Community College
30335 Oregon Rd., Perrysburg

Allen/Van Wert Counties
Feb. 5
2 p.m.  
Delphos Eagles    
1600 E. 5th St., Delphos

Defiance/Paulding Counties    
Feb. 5
6 p.m. 
Defiance K of C Hall    
111 Elliott Rd., Defiance

Auglaize County
Feb. 11
6 p.m.   
Auglaize County Jr. Fair Building    
1001 Fairview Dr., Wapakoneta

Mercer County
Feb. 18
6 p.m.
American Legion Hall    
601 N. 2nd St., Coldwater

Henry/Putnam Counties    
Feb. 20
6 p.m.
Fogle Center    
815 E. Mathias St., Leipsic

Fulton/Williams Counties    
Feb. 27
6 p.m.   
Kissell Community Building    
509 N. Main St., West Unity

Hancock/Hardin Counties    
Feb. 28
9:30 a.m.   
McIntosh Center, Ohio Northern University  
402 W. College Ave., Ada