Lake County holds 2020 annual meeting

The Lake County Farm Bureau held its 2020 Annual Meeting on Monday, Sept. 14, 2020, at the Perry First Baptist Church parking lot, with 61 in attendance.  This was a drive-in style meeting due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Local, state and federal candidates were invited to participate in the Candidate’s Minute, either in person or by video, to give a short introduction of themselves and to share what they will do for agriculture and the community if elected. All in attendance enjoyed their choice of a boxed meal served by Smoke BBQ.

County President Steve Ohmes presided over the event. Board trustees were elected for two-year teams. Those elected are Donald W. Jacobson, Layne Lassnick, Steve Lucic, Kelly Mader, Steve Ohmes and Addie Shaffer. Samantha Bly and Eric Cotton were elected to serve as delegates to the Ohio Farm Bureau annual meeting in 2021. All proposed policies passed.

Anya Demshar talked about the great experiences she has had through Farm Bureau youth events. She attended Ohio Leadership Camp held at FFA Camp Muskingum in June and she participated in Ohio Youth Capital Challenge as a participant last year, and was a mentor in 2020. 

Mike McDonald was presented the Youth Development in Agriculture award for his dedication to Lake County youth. 


George and Wendy Lassnick received the Distinguished Service to Agriculture award for their exceptional contribution to Lake County agriculture.

Julia Bystrom was acknowledged as the 2020 Lake County Farm Bureau scholarship recipient. Julia was unable to attend due to being away at college.

Ohio Farm Bureau State Trustee Bill Patterson shared the current happenings of the Ohio Farm Bureau and remarks from the OFBF state board. He also thanked Organization Director Mandy Orahood for her dedication to Lake County and all the work she put into this year’s annual meeting to make it successful in such a trying year.

Orahood recognized the Lake County Farm Bureau board of trustees, action team leaders and membership coordinators for their 2020 accomplishments and thanked them all for their commitment to the Lake County Farm Bureau. 

Farm Bureau members voted on the policies that guide the county Farm Bureau and established member positions for proposal to Ohio Farm Bureau, which will be voted on at the 2020 Ohio Farm Bureau Annual Meeting in December. Policy positions included agriculture’s role in protecting water quality, wildlife management, agricultural education programs, land conservation, road maintenance and woodland management.

The annual meeting was also a celebration of the work members, volunteers and staff put into representing Farm Bureau in advancing agriculture and strengthening our communities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *