2020 Trumbull County Annual Meeting held

The Trumbull County Farm Bureau held its 2020 Annual Meeting Wednesday, Sept. 16, 2020 at the Hartford Hill Winery, with 65 in attendance. The meeting was held outside due to COVID-19 restrictions. Attendees were able to participate from their vehicles as well through FM radio broadcasting of the event. 

Local, state and federal candidates were invited to participate in a Candidate’s Minute, either in person or by video, to give a short introduction of themselves and to share what they will do for agriculture and the community, if elected. All in attendance enjoyed the meal served by the winery.

County President Mary Smallsreed, presided over the event. Board trustees were elected for three-year terms: James Allen, Monica Culp, Julianne Holler and Steven Kacerski.  Monica Culp, Melissa Gore-Romine, Mary Smallsreed and Joe Turon were elected to serve as delegates to the Ohio Farm Bureau annual meeting in 2021.  

Farm Bureau members also voted on the public policies that guide the county Farm Bureau and established member positions for proposals to the Ohio Farm Bureau, which will be voted on at the 2020 Ohio Farm Bureau Annual Meeting in December. Policy positions proposed included inclusion of all types of agriculture, drug and child trafficking, road usage permits, meat processing support, woodland management, mental health in rural Trumbull County and rural Ohio and more.  All of these policies passed.


Our guest speaker for the evening was Ty Higgins, OFBF director of media and communications. He talked about water quality, trade, broadband and markets.  He discussed behind-the-scenes at OFBF during the pandemic: COVID-19 impact survey; 10 critical actions during COVID-19; government advocacy; general public education and new media relationships.  It was an amazing presentation, entertaining and well presented. Additional entertainment for the night were the Hartford Hill Winery ducks that loved the guests who shared their dinner with them.

Julianne Holler and Tim McCormick attended the YAP Winter Conference in February and each shared their experience of attending and thanked the board for sponsoring them.

Kibler Dairy was recognized with the Tom Schwartz Environmental Friendly Farmer award. Glenn and Sandee Smith were presented with the OFBF County Member of Distinction award for 2020 for their years of service. Family Farm & Home – Warren; Countryside Veterinary Service; and the Trumbull County Animal Welfare League were all recognized as Partners of the Year for their donation of time, services and location for the county’s first pet clinic held last fall.

Devon Palich, Callae Moody and Julie Smallsreed were acknowledged as the 2020 scholarship recipients.

Ohio Farm Bureau State Trustee Bill Patterson shared the current happenings of the Ohio Farm Bureau and remarks from the OFBF state board. He also thanked Organization Director Mandy Orahood for her dedication to Trumbull County and for all the work she put into pulling this year’s annual meeting together in such a trying year. 

Orahood recognized the Trumbull County Farm Bureau board of trustees, action team leaders and membership coordinator for their 2020 accomplishments and thanked them all for their commitment to the Trumbull County Farm Bureau.  

The annual meeting also was a celebration of the work members, volunteers and staff put into “representing the Farm Bureau in advancing agriculture and strengthening our communities.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *