Guernsey County Farm Bureau announces 2021 scholarship recipients

Two students from Guernsey County each will receive a $500 scholarship to help with expenses for their upcoming college year, thanks to Guernsey County Farm Bureau. From the applications submitted, Brooke Baird and Lauren Roe, both of Salesville, were selected as the 2021 scholarship recipients. 

Brooke is the daughter of Doug and Melissa Baird. She plans to follow in her parents’ footsteps in having a good strong work ethic, which will help her achieve her future plans.

“My family and I have many years of involvement in the Guernsey County Relay for Life along with community service through my involvement in my 4-H group, my high school FFA Chapter, and National Honor Society has helped me understand and appreciate the importance of helping others. I enjoy playing basketball and helping out with farm chores and taking care of our cattle on my parents farm.” 

Brooke will be attending Muskingum University in the fall of 2021 majoring in athletic training. Upon completion of her bachelor’s degree, her goal is to pursue a job working in the field of athletic training, continuing her involvement and service to the community, and continue to work and help on her parents farm.

Lauren is the daughter of Lorne and Heather Roe. She will begin her junior sequence at Ohio University-Eastern in the fall. 

“I plan to graduate with a bachelor’s in social work in 2023 and then continue on with my education. I live on my family’s farm, where we raise beef cattle. I plan to work with adults who have struggled with sobriety/addiction or the aging population,” Lauren said. “I hope to be a half of the person my grandma ‘mamma’ was and to use my career to help those who need someone to listen to and advocate for them.”

Guernsey County Farm Bureau congratulates these two fine students on their accomplishments and wishes all the best to our area graduates in their future endeavors.

For more information on Guernsey County Farm Bureau, or available scholarships for next year, phone 740-425-3681 or email [email protected]