Mike Videkovich

Season’s greetings everyone! I’m Mike Videkovich, District 15 trustee on the Ohio Farm Bureau board of trustees, and Jenny Cox serves as your regional trustee.

Ohio Farm Bureau has prepared this summary of key topics covered during the December board meeting and Ohio Farm Bureau annual meeting. It is our privilege to represent you on the board. If you have any questions or comments, please send them to me or to Jenny.

Board guests
Nationwide guests at the board meeting included Nationwide board members Steve Hirsch and Pamela Beall. Dan Durheim with sponsor relations also joined the meeting.

The annual meeting and member celebration took place Dec. 9-10. Here is a recap of those events as well as a recap of the policy discussion.

Code changes
Delegates at the 2021 annual meeting adopted a set of amendments to the OFBF Code of Regulations that were recommended by the OFBF Code of Regulations Committee. The amendments were based on the work and recommendations of the Membership and Financial Strength Task Force, which was composed of county and state leaders and the OFBF State Board of Trustees.

Highlights of the new code changes will allow for an increase in organizational dues in order to continue to provide key service to members starting in December 2022, a more regular board analysis of dues amounts and a consistent statewide dues rate beginning in December 2025. In December 2022, current membership classes will be consolidated into one membership category, while keeping a special dues rate for young members and a defined process and definition of who can serve in county and state policy development and leadership roles. Finally, the formula for determining the number of county Farm Bureau delegates to the state annual meeting was updated, with every county Farm Bureau receiving two delegates (president and vice president) plus one additional delegate for every 500 members or part thereof.

Leader remarks
The annual meeting was a chance to hear from President Bill Patterson, Executive Vice President Adam Sharp and other guests. Annual meeting highlights can be viewed here.

Board elections
Ohio Farm Bureau officers were elected during the meeting. Bill Patterson was re-elected president; Cy Prettyman was re-elected first vice president and Lane Osswald was re-elected treasurer.

New board members elected were District 12 Trustee Kyle Walls representing Coshocton, Holmes, Knox and Licking counties and District 2 Trustee Bill Myers representing Lucas, Ottawa, Sandusky and Wood counties. Here is a full list of all trustees re-elected.

Delegates set policy direction
Landowner rights, energy development and the Ohio State Fair were among the topics discussed by delegates. A record 385 delegates representing all county Farm Bureaus participated in the debate and discussion.

Innovation and Collaboration awards
Belmont, Crawford, Hocking, Pickaway, Pike, Union, Wayne and Wood County Farm Bureaus received innovation awards for their local programs. Collaboration awards went to Allen, Paulding, Putnam and Van Wert counties; Ashland, Medina and Wayne counties; and Jackson-Vinton, Pike and Scioto counties. Read about their programs.

Individual awards
Distinguished Service Awards were presented to Dr. Tony Forshey (posthumously), Belinda Jones (posthumously), Randy Leis and Keith Stimpert. Jami Dellifield, Family and Consumer Sciences educator with Ohio State University Extension in Hardin County, was the recipient of the first Y Prize.

Farm Bureau’s next big event is the Young Ag Professionals Winter Leadership Experience Jan. 28-29 in Cincinnati. Registration deadline is Jan. 4.

Please enjoy a safe and joyful Christmas and New Year!

Labor has always been an issue, mainly because we are a seasonal operation. So that's a challenge finding somebody who only wants to work three months out of a year, sometimes up to six months.
Mandy Way's avatar
Mandy Way

Way Farms

Farm Labor Resources
I appreciate the benefit of having a strong voice in my corner. The extras that are included in membership are wonderful, but I'm a member because of the positive impact to my local and state agricultural communities.
Ernie Welch's avatar
Ernie Welch

Van Wert County Farm Bureau

Strong communities
I see the value and need to be engaged in the community I live in, to be a part of the decision-making process and to volunteer with organizations that help make our community better.
Matt Aultman's avatar
Matt Aultman

Darke County Farm Bureau

Leadership development
Farm Bureau involvement has taught me how to grow my professional and leadership experience outside of the workforce and how to do that in a community-centric way.
Jaclyn De Candio's avatar
Jaclyn De Candio

Clark County Farm Bureau

Young Ag Professionals program
With not growing up on a farm, I’d say I was a late bloomer to agriculture. I feel so fortunate that I found the agriculture industry. There are so many opportunities for growth.
Jenna Gregorich's avatar
Jenna Gregorich

Coshocton County Farm Bureau

Growing our Generation
Knowing that horticulture is under the agriculture umbrella and having Farm Bureau supporting horticulture like it does the rest of ag is very important.
Jared Hughes's avatar
Jared Hughes

Groovy Plants Ranch

Groovy Plants Ranch
If it wasn't for Farm Bureau, I personally, along with many others, would not have had the opportunity to meet with our representatives face to face in Washington.
Austin Heil's avatar
Austin Heil

Hardin County Farm Bureau

Washington, D.C. Leadership Experience
So many of the issues that OFBF and its members are advocating for are important to all Ohioans. I look at OFBF as an agricultural watchdog advocating for farmers and rural communities across Ohio.
Mary Smallsreed's avatar
Mary Smallsreed

Trumbull County Farm Bureau

Suggested Tags: