Marion County names 2019 Scholarship recipients

Marion County Farm Bureau is pleased to announce Meridith Cocherl and Seldon Dyer as the 2019 James H. Johnson Scholarship recipients. Recipients were selected based upon their academic and extracurricular accomplishments.

Meridith Cocherl is studying agribusiness and applied economics at Ohio State University. She is a member of OSU’s Sigma Alpha sorority, OSU’s Agribusiness Club, and plays intramural volleyball. While attending Elgin High School, she received her American FFA Degree, State FFA Degree, and was the reporter and vice president of her FFA chapter. Meridith hopes to return to Marion County as a loan officer upon graduating next year.

Seldon Dyer graduated from Elgin High School in May. He was an active FFA member, ran cross country, and was on Elgin High School’s Scholastic Challenge team. In the fall, Seldon plans to attend Ohio State University ATI campus. He will major in agribusiness and applied economics. After graduating, Seldon plans to return home to help on the family farm and begin raising Angus cattle.

Scholarship applicants must be a Marion County Farm Bureau member or a dependent of a member. Applicants must also be a graduating high school senior or currently enrolled in a college or university. Preference is given to students going into the agriculture field.

We wish Meridith and Seldon the best of luck in their future endeavors.