Farm Bureau policy committee begins work

Twenty Ohio Farm Bureau leaders are serving on the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation Policy Development Committee. The committee collects and organizes public policy recommendations from county Farm Bureaus and presents the final policy suggestions to be voted on by Ohio Farm Bureau’s delegates during the state annual meeting in December.  

In its initial session, the committee heard from government leaders, subject matter experts and Farm Bureau staff on topics such as the shortage of large animal veterinarians, Ohio’s fertilizer guidelines, managing nutrient loss, education policy, infrastructure funding, engagement in the Ohio Power Siting evaluation process, deer and wildlife management, abandoned railways and trails, land conservation programs and industrial hemp.

The policy committee consists of 10 members from Ohio Farm Bureau’s board of trustees and 10 representatives of county Farm Bureaus.   

The committee is chaired by Ohio Farm Bureau First Vice President Bill Patterson of Chesterland and includes OFBF President Frank Burkett of Massillon and Treasurer Cy Prettyman of New Bloomington. State trustees on the committee are Roger Baker of Wooster, Nathan Brown of Hillsboro, Paul Davidson of Newark, Bill Waddle of Springfield, Al Miller of Marietta, Lane Osswald of Eldorado and Kyle Smith of South Vienna.

County Farm Bureau representatives are Adele Flynn of Lorain County, John Grafton of Jefferson County, Rebekah Headings of Madison County, Rachel Heimerl of Licking County, Kent McGovern of Ashland County, Jamie Pursell of Seneca County, Jamey Rauch of Washington County,  Robert Sinn of Paulding County, Robert Suver of Clark County and Cindy Wilson of Morgan County.

This is a news release for use by journalists. Questions should be directed to Joe Cornely, 614-246-8230.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *