Farm Bureau recognizes students

Since 1919, Farm Bureau has worked to provide assistance and guidance to area farmers while also supporting the county’s food and farm community and educating the public on agriculture.

Members of the organization gathered at Hartford Hill Winery for the annual meeting and scholarship event. Farm Bureau is the largest agricultural organization in the state.

Mandy Orahood, organization director for the bureau, said while the 100th anniversary is a great milestone for the organization to achieve, the event also recognized local high school and college students, reviewed policies and procedures and elected delegates to represent the area at the state level.

Bill Patterson, District 4 state trustee and Ohio Farm Bureau Federation first vice president, said it is important to note the success of the Farm Bureau to reach 100 years.

“The organization is still going strong and has strong partners locally and across the state. We all look forward to another 100 years,” Patterson said.

Mike Bailey, OFBF vice president of strategic partnerships, said the strong work and dedication of the members shows what the organization has reached.  

“There is a strong importance of being part of the organization for 100 years,” he said.

The Farm Bureau states that for 100 years it has been working with farmers to solve important issues that affect the members and their communities. Farm Bureau has been an advocate for strong business environment ensuring the preservation of Ohio’s farm heritage and working for clean water and appropriate energy development.

Orahood said Farm Bureau is working to improve the lives of all Ohioans not just farmers.

The Trumbull County Farm Bureau recently received this certificate presented by Trumbull County Judge James Fredericka, in honor of the Ohio Farm Bureau Centennial.

The 2019 scholarship recipients:

Olivia Baker, daughter of Christopher Baker of Hartford, and Lisa Baker of Sharon Pa., a freshman at The Ohio State University majoring in exercise science / pre-physical therapy.

Luke Culp, son of Kent and Monica Culp of Vienna, a freshman at OSU Agricultural Technical Institute, majoring in agronomy.

Spencer Logan, son of Dennis and Jennifer Logan of Johnston, a freshman at OSU ATI, majoring in agricultural systems management.

Zachary Logan, son of Steve Logan of Gustavus, a freshman at New Castle School of Trades, pursuing an associate’s degree in electrical technology.

Callae Moody, daughter of Richard and Terry Moody of Colebrook, a freshman at Baldwin Wallace University, majoring in speech and language pathology.

Leeoria Willis, daughter of Jason and Cara Willis of Bristol, a freshman at Central State University, majoring in agri-science education.

Other recognitions:

Diana Marchese was nominated as the OFBF Member of Distinction for 2019 from Trumbull County.  She will be further recognized at the Ohio Farm Bureau annual meeting in December.

The Tom Schwartz Environmentally Friendly Award was presented to Aaron and Melissa Miller of Miller Livestock Company of Kinsman for their efforts in farming and being environmentally conscious. The award is given in memory of Schwartz, who was a past president of Trumbull Farm Bureau.

Trustees nominated are Tim McCormick of Burghill, Richard Moody of Colebrook, Marsha Stanhope of Kinsman and Jeff Williams of Kinsman. Delegates for the year are Daniel Bancroft, Richard Moody, Gary Smallsreed, Tim McCormick and alternate James Allen.

The Junior Fair livestock auction purchase totaled $5,339.

Those attending the event which was in honor of the military brought personal care items to be given to the VA Clinic in Warren.

Submitted by Bob Coupland, Warren Tribune reporter, he can be reached by email.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *