All Ag Banquet Wrap-up

The 101st annual meeting of the Miami County Farm Bureau was held at the 16th Annual All Ag Meeting and Banquet at the Miami County Fairgrounds Duke- Lundgard Building. The meeting and banquet included a dinner prepared by Lyons catering, presentations from Miami Soil & Water Conservation District, Miami County Ag Society, Miami County OSU Extension, NRCS, Miami County Farm Bureau and special guest speaker Jennifer Coleman,  representative of the Ohio Soybean Council. 

Coleman spoke about the Ohio Soybean Council and what soybean check-off dollars are funding. The Ohio Soybean Council has figured that for every $1  farmers give, they get a $12 return. Check-off dollars go toward research and development of new products and services, new technologies, education and promotion of Ohio soybeans. Ohio soybeans have their own brand and are highly sought after internationally. The OSC is a leader and award winner in product research, innovation, technology and even has its own laboratory and holds many patents.

After the guest speaker, Organization Director Taylor Pontsler introduced Miami County Farm Bureau Board President Grant Davis.

Davis introduced the Miami County Farm Bureau Board of Trustees. President – Grant Davis; Vice President – Jenny Hodge; Secretary – Craig Lichtenberg. Trustees –Lauren Blackburn, Bill Hershberger, Kreig Smail, Cynda Shuman-Renner, Brent Raines and Bill Wilkins.

Ohio Farm Bureau State Trustee Bill Waddle gave a brief overview on current events in Ohio agriculture. The hot issue at this time is looking into the Meat Packers & Stockyard Act of 1921 and how that can be updated and improved.  During the pandemic, there were problems for consumers and producers in this area.

Davis reported that ballots were counted and all policies were approved.  Delegates for 2021 Ohio Farm Bureau Annual Meeting are Craig Lichtenberg, Jenny Hodge and Bill Wilkins, along with President Grant Davis.

Thank you to everyone who had a hand in making this meeting a success! Farm Bureau is thankful for the members who were able to attend the meeting, even during these difficult times. Their efforts are a true example of what the organization strives for: resilience, passion and dedication. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *