December 2019 State Board Update

Below is an update from Mike Videkovich, District 15 trustee for Ohio Farm Bureau and Jenny Cox, southeast regional trustee.

Ohio Farm Bureau has prepared this summary of some of the topics covered during the December board meeting and state annual meeting. It is our privilege to represent you on the board. If you have any questions or comments, please send them to Jenny or me.

Annual meeting highlights
The OFBF annual meeting is about recognizing Farm Bureau leaders, past and present. This year’s meeting was held Dec. 4-5 in Columbus. See the full recap that includes award winners and an overview of the policy discussion.  

Board elections
We welcomed new board member Craig Pohlman who will serve as District 5 trustee. Here is a summary of all board and officer elections.

2019 organization highlights
Annual meeting is a chance to hear from President Frank Burkett and Executive Vice President Adam Sharp. Both shared 2019 highlights as well as organizational challenges and opportunities. Both speeches, in addition to video highlights from annual meeting, can be viewed on YouTube.

Bill and Helen Swank Scholarship Fund
Annual meeting attendees learned how Ohio Farm Bureau is honoring the legacy of Bill Swank with the recently created Bill and Helen Swank Scholarship Fund. Scholarships will be awarded to students pursuing post-secondary education in agriculture. By donating to this scholarship, you’ll help students with their agricultural education and inspire them to pay it forward in their communities. We are nearly to our goal; consider contributing before year end!

County Farm Bureau excellence
Twenty-nine county Farm Bureaus were honored with Achievement Awards for outstanding programming over the past year. Congratulations to our strong county Farm Bureau programs!

Ohio’s county Farm Bureaus again led the nation for quality programming, winning eight of the 24 County Activities of Excellence awards presented by the American Farm Bureau.

Special board guests and honorees
Nationwide guests at the board meeting included Nationwide board member Craig Adams and Devin Fuhrman, vice president, Sponsor Relations.

Chief Executive Officer Kirt Walker spoke to annual meeting delegates, and retired Nationwide CEO Steve Rasmussen received the Ezra C. Anstaett Heritage Award. Other honorees included Tom Price of Delaware County, who was honored with the Distinguished Service Award and OFBF’s Joe Cornely, who received the Agricultural Communicator Award. Learn more about our honorees.
We appreciated Gov. Mike DeWine addressing the guests at the Kick Off Lunch.