John Poulson, Golden Owl Award

Nominate a deserving agricultural teacher today

Presented by Nationwide, Ohio FFA, Ohio Farm Bureau, Farm Credit Mid-America and AgCredit, the Golden Owl Award recognizes agricultural educators across Ohio for their tremendous contributions to helping the next generation of agricultural leaders and crowns the Ohio Agricultural Educator of the Year. 

Students, fellow teachers and other supporters can nominate their favorite agricultural teacher who is currently teaching agricultural education courses at the secondary (middle/high school) level.

To enter, the nominator as well as the ag teacher’s contact information is required plus an essay (250 words or less) describing how the teacher’s dedication to agriculture education and commitment and impact on today’s youth make the teacher the best in the state. Nominations are being accepted through Dec. 31, 2021.


Nominees have the opportunity to win great cash prizes for their school’s ag program and the distinction of Ohio Ag Educator of the Year, which will be announced during the 2022 Ohio FFA State Convention.

Prizes include:

  • $500 to each of the 10 honorees’ school ag program and an engraved plaque to each honoree
  • $3,000 to the grand prize winner’s school ag program and the coveted Golden Owl Award trophy to the grand prize winner (Ohio Agricultural Educator of the Year)

Application and judging

Each of 10 honorees will be required to complete a short form to finalize their application for the overall state winner. The completed form is due no later than March 25, 2022.

Ahead of the 2022 Ohio FFA State Convention, the selection committee will review forms submitted. The committee will deliberate and make their final selection for the Ohio Agricultural Educator of the Year.

Nominations will be judged based on the following criteria:

  1.   Teacher’s dedication to agriculture education.
  2.   Teacher’s commitment to his/her student(s).
  3.   Teacher’s impact on his/her student(s).
  4.   Teacher’s impact on their local community.
  5.   Number of nominations for the teacher.

Contest rules

Online extras

Meet 2021 winner Don Hammersmith, recently retired from Ayersville High School

Meet 2020 winner Christi Bachman, from Bloom-Carroll High School

Meet the 2019 winner John Poulson, from Pettisville High School (pictured)